Skip to main content

Chester W. Barrows School Library: Parent Resources

Homework Help RI

Free homework help is available daily from 2:00-10:00PM for all RI students in grades K-12.  Students can connect with live tutors in the following subjects through an online chat (Math, Science, English, Social Studies, and Writing) and receive free help with their homework.  Homework Help RI also includes a Homework Resources section (lessons, study guides, worksheets and videos)

Helpful Information

Click on the links below to download helpful information prepared by CPS Librarians. 

AskRI Databases

AskRI.org is RI's free statewide database system.  It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents.  Check it out - It's great!

Homework Help RI – Live tutoring by Internet chat is provided free of charge between 2PM and 10PM daily for grades K-12 in the following subjects: Math, Science, English, Social Studies, Writing.  This service is powered by tutor.com  Also includes Homework Resources section (lessons, study guides, worksheets and videos)

Career Center @Homework Help RI – Prepare for the SAT, ACT, standardized tests in all 50 states, graduate school entrance tests, civil service, GED etc.  Local open jobs, resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and much more for job seekers.

World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages.  Also includes World Book Digital Libraries: Living Green, Early Peoples, Inventions & Discoveries, and Dramatic Learning

Mango Languages – An online language-learning system  for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Heritage Quest – Genealogy Resources

Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work.  Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more. 

A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses

EBSCO Host – Databases include:

  • Literary Reference Center (Full-text database - similar to Gale’s Literature Resource Center)
  • Biography Collection Complete (Over 177,000 full text biographies)
  • Points of View ( Full Text Database that provides essays stating both sides of controversial issues)
  • Student Research Center (Search magazines, newspapers, book & encyclopedias, biographies, Radio & TV news transcripts, Country reports, State/Province reports, Primary source documents, Photos, Maps, Flags, Film & video)
  • MasterFILE (full text for 1700 periodicals)
  • GreenFILE (information about human impact to the environment)
  • MEDLINE (authoritative medical information)
  • ERIC & Teacher Reference Center
  • Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
  • Primary Search (full text magazine database for elementary students)
  • TOPICsearch (full text articles from newspapers and government information)
  • Academic Search Elite (full text for nearly 2100 journals)
  • History Reference Center (full text of 1600 Reference books, 150 periodicals, 57,000 historical documents, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 historical photos & maps, 80 hours of historical video)
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • Novelist (Readers’ Advisory for fiction books)

Subject Guide

Sue Rose's picture
Sue Rose
Contact:
Chester W. Barrows School
9 Beachmont Avenue
Cranston, RI 02905

United Way 211

United Way 211 - Get information, Deal with a problem or crisis, discover options. 

Internet Safety

NetSmartz Workshop is an educational program created by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children® It provides age-appropriate resources to help teach children and teens how to be safe online.

 

Excellent Article from KidsHealth.org that explains Internet safety, including the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act.  

ELL Resources

Here are two collections of wonderful resources for ELL students and families.

The New York Public Library has some AMAZING ELL resources for families to practice their English at home.  Click on the above icon to find these great sites.

 

Everything ESL.net has superb websites for elementary aged children.  These websites are categorized for grades K-2, 3- 5 and 4 - 8.  Click on the above icon to access these great sites.

Enjoy Exploring!

 

 

 

Acknowledgements

Many thanks to Mrs. Blais of Cranston High School East, who originated much of the material in this Guide.  Also thanks to the many Cranston Public School librarians who contributed to the material in the Helpful Tips section.