Skip to main content

Tiverton Middle School Library: Citing Sources

Helpful Hints:

  • Keep track of your sources as you research! If you create a working bibliography while you are working, you'll only have to clean up and check your bibliography at the end.
  • Check out the bibliographies at the end of your print or online sources! These will lead you to other, similar sources which may be helpful. 
  • Be sure to use appropriate academic sources! Your teacher will often look at your bibliography before reading your paper to form an opinion about the quality of the research you have done. 
  • Include all the information required by MLA style. It is very possible that your teacher will need this information to look up and verify your sources. 
  • Don't just add sources to make a long bibliography. Only include sources you have actually used and found helpful!

Why do I have to include a bibliography?

Your bibliography ensures that readers can look up the sources you have used to verify facts and even use them for their own research! Citing your sources is also important because it gives credit to the authors and researchers who have taken the time to research and write about your topic. Watch the video below! 

Your Bibliography

You are required to use MLA style citations. For tips on how to use MLA follow the suggestions below,  print/use the bibliography data collection sheet, and/or use Purdue University's guide to MLA style (links provided).  

Can't find what you're looking for? You'll find it in Purdue University's guide to MLA style

Here are a few basic formats that you'll probably use in your bibliography:

Book:
Author's last name, Author's first name. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year    of Publication. Print. 

EBook:
Author's last name, Author's first name. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year    of Publication. Database Title. Format. Date of access. 

Article from an Online Database:

Author's last name, Authors first name, and Author's first name Author's last name.    "Article Title." Journal Title. Publication date: pages. Name of Database. Web.    Date accessed.

Magazine Article:

(Print): Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title." Magazine Title Print.    Publication date. Pages.  

(Online Database)Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title." Magazine Title    Publication date. Database name. Web. Date Accessed.<URL.>

Website Page:

"Title of page."Website. Publisher, Publication date. Format. Date accessed. 

Keep track of your sources as you research

Citation Machine

Image result for citation machine free

 

Your Bibliography the easy way!

 

 

Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab

Attribution

Page content used with permission of Phyllis Humphrey, Archie R. Cole Middle School and Sarah DeVito.