Skip to main content

Deering Middle School Library: Reading

Destiny Discover eBook Information

  • To open an ebook, you must be logged in to Destiny Discover, unless you are in the school building.
  • Library eBooks are in the cloud, on a website called Destiny Discover.  You cannot download them to your chromebook.  
  • Google Read&Write will not read library eBooks.
  • Some eBooks have a read aloud tool.  Click the play button.
  • Some eBooks can only be read by one person at a time.

Reading Follett eBooks in Destiny Discover quick reference guide

Click See All to view the collection of ebook titles.

Use the filters on the left side to search by Reading Level, genre, and more.

Book Recommendations

 

RICBA: Rhode Island Children's Book Award 2019 Nominees

RIMSBA: Rhode Island Middle School Book Award 2019 Nominees

RITBA: Rhode Island Teen Book Award 2019 Nominees

Scholastic Book Lists & Recommendations

Goodreads Popular 5th and 6th Grade Books

Goodreads Popular 7th and 8th Grade Books

Image result for ala logo

Young Adult Library Association Best Fiction 2018

Image result for ala logo

Notable Children's Books 2018

ebooks

 

username:  stu-first initial last name-graduation year

                 password:  id #

ex:  stu-jsmith-2024

      99999

 

Image result for free kids books

  Image result for epic books for kids

 

   

 

Image result for unite for literacy logo

Deering RI Middle School Book Award Blog

Young Adult and Teen Reading

Image result for story shares

Image result for barnes and noble teen blog

Mrs. Mitchell's Books

Mrs.Mitchell's bookshelf: currently-reading

The Scourge
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com

Kids Read Across Rhode Island

Image result for first rule of punk book

This summer reading program is Rhode Island’s statewide One State, One Book initiative for students in grades 3-6. Kids Reading Across Rhode Island is offered in partnership with the Rhode Island Office of Library and Information Services’ Summer Reading Program.

RI Middle School Book Award

Armstrong and Charlie

During the pilot year of a Los Angeles school system integration program, two sixth grade boys, one black, one white, become best friends as they learn to cope with everything from first crushes and playground politics to the loss of loved ones and racial prejudice in the 1970s.

Beautiful Blue World

Sofarende is at war and the army is paying families well to recruit children, so if twelve-year-old Mathilde or her best friend Megs is chosen, they hope to help their families but fear they will be separated forever.

Click Here to Start

When Ted inherits his uncle's apartment "and all the treasure within," he realizes the apartment is set up like a real-life video game and must solve the puzzles with his friends to discover the treasure.

The Evil Wizard Smallbone

When twelve-year-old Nick runs away from his uncle's in the middle of a blizzard, he stumbles onto a very opinionated bookstore. He also meets its guardian, the self-proclaimed Evil Wizard Smallbone, who calls Nick his apprentice and won't let him leave, but won't teach him magic, either. It's a good thing the bookstore takes Nick's magical education in hand, because Smallbone's nemesis--the Evil Wizard Fidelou--and his pack of shape-shifting bikers are howling at the borders. Smallbone might call himself evil, but compared to Fidelou, he's practically a puppy. And he can't handle Fidelou alone.
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Family Game Night and Other Catastrophes

Annabelle has a secret . . . a secret so big she won't allow friends within five miles of her home. Her mom collects things. Their house is overflowing with stuff. It gives Annabelle's sister nightmares, her brother spends as much time as he can at friends' houses, and her dad buries himself in his work. So when a stack of newspapers falls on Annabelle's sister, it sparks a catastrophic fight between their parents--one that might tear them all apart--and Annabelle starts to think that things at home finally need to change.

Fuzzy

When Max (Maxine Zealster) befriends her new robot classmate Fuzzy, she helps him navigate Vanguard Middle School and together they reveal the truth behind the Robot Integration Program.

Garvey's Choice

Preferring science and reading to the sports his father wants him to play, Garvey comforts himself with food and endures bullying before joining the school chorus, where he learns how to accept himself and bond with his father.

Maya Lin

The Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C., is one of the most famous pieces of civic architecture in the world. But most people are not as familiar with the reserved college student who entered and won the design competition to build it. This ... biography tells the story of Maya Lin, from her struggle to stick with her vision of the memorial to the wide variety of works she has created since then.

The Nameless City

Every nation that invades the City gives it a new name. But before long, new invaders arrive and the City changes hands once again. The natives don't let themselves get caught up in the unending wars. To them, their home is the Nameless City, and those who try to name it are forever outsiders. Kaidu is one such outsider. He's a Dao born and bred--a member of the latest occupying nation. Rat is a native of the Nameless City. At first, she hates Kai for everything he stands for, but his love of his new home may be the one thing that can bring these two unlikely friends together. Let's hope so, because the fate of the Nameless City rests in their hands.

Once Was a Time

In the war-ravaged England of 1940, Charlotte Bromley is sure of only one thing: Kitty McLaughlin is her best friend in the whole world. But when Charlotte's scientist father makes an astonishing discovery that the Germans will covet for themselves, Charlotte is faced with an impossible choice between danger and safety. Should she remain with her friend or journey to another time and place? Her split-second decision has huge consequences, and when she finds herself alone in the world, unsure of Kitty's fate, she knows that somehow, some way, she must find her way back to her friend. Written in the spirit of classic time-travel tales, this book is an imaginative and heartfelt tribute to the unbreakable ties of friendship.

One Half from the East

Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune. Her father lost one of his legs in a bomb explosion, forcing the family to move from their home city of Kabul to a small village, where life is very different and Obayda's father almost never leaves his room. One day, Obayda's aunt has an idea to bring the family luck--dress Obayda, the youngest of her sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Obayda is Obayd. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes.

The Pants Project

"My name is Liv (Not Olivia)... I'm not technically a girl. I'm Transgender. Which is a bit like being a transformer. Only not quite as cool because I probably won't get to save the world one day." Liv knows he was always meant to be a boy, but with his new school's terrible dress code, he can't even wear pants. Only skirts. Operation: Pants Project begins! The only way for Liv to get what he wants is to go after it himself. But to Liv, this isn't just a mission to change the policy--it's a mission to change his life. And that's a pretty big deal.
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Refugee

JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . . ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . . MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . . All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end. This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.

Restart

Chase Ambrose forgets everything after falling off a roof and losing consciousness. He forgets his name. He forgets his parents. He forgets what he was doing up there on that roof. And he forgets that he's the biggest bully at Hiawassee Middle School, along with his two best buddies Aaron and Bear. Chase is shocked to learn how he bullied and tormented kids at school. He ruined lives. One kid left town because of him. And worst of all, even his little half-sister is terrified of him. Was he really such a monster? Determined to reinvent himself, Chase joins video club and befriends some of the kids who used to consider him a number-one enemy. But some people aren't so quick to forgive and forget. Can Chase really change who he is? Or will the old him merely come back over time?
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Scar Island

Twelve-year-old Jonathan Grisby has been sent to the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys, a former lunatic asylum which is currently run by a sadist who enjoys punishing the boys and setting them against each other; but when a lightning strike kills all the adults the boys find themselves suddenly free--and trapped on Scar Island which seems to be sinking into the ocean.

The Skeleton Tree

A modern-day adventure and classic in the making, in the vein of The Call of the Wild, Hatchet, and The Cay, by award-winning author Iain Lawrence.   Less than forty-eight hours after twelve-year-old Chris sets off on a sailing trip down the Alaskan coast with his uncle, their boat sinks. The only survivors are Chris and a boy named Frank, who hates Chris immediately. Chris and Frank have no radio, no flares, no food. Suddenly, they've got to forage, fish, and scavenge the shore for supplies. Chris likes the company of a curious, friendly raven more than he likes the prickly Frank. But the boys have to get along if they want to survive.   Because as the days get colder and the salmon migration ends, survival will take more than sheer force of will. Eventually, in the wilderness of Alaska, the boys discover an improbable bond--and the compassion that might truly be the path to rescue.

Spirit Hunters

Harper Raine, the new seventh grader in town, must face down the dangerous ghosts haunting her younger brother in this riveting ghost story.

Top Prospect

Before he even enters high school, Travis, a pre-teen quarterback with big potential, gets the opportunity of a lifetime when the University of Florida football coach offers him a scholarship. Travis must wrangle with his new found celebrity, his rivalry with a brother who's already part of the Florida program, and a sudden injury that puts everything in jeopardy.

Train I Ride

Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California. Her gramma can't take care of her anymore, so she's traveling to Chicago to live with a relative she's never met.

We Will Not Be Silent

Russell Freedman tells the story of Austrian-born Hans Scholl and his sister Sophie. They belonged to Hitler Youth as young children, but began to doubt the Nazi regime. As older students, the Scholls and a few friends formed the White Rose, a campaign of active resistance to Hitler and the Nazis. Risking imprisonment or even execution, the White Rose members distributed leaflets urging Germans to defy the Nazi government. Their belief that freedom was worth dying for will inspire young readers to stand up for what they believe in.