Skip to main content

St. Mary Academy - Bay View Library: Citation and Works Cited

Online Citation Help

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or an evaluation of each source, in addition to all of the bibliographic information in the correct format.

And remember....

Please contact your librarian for help with citation:

Ms. Laurence: llaurence@bayviewacademy.org

 

 

MLA Citation Tutorial

Hanging Indent in Google Docs on iPad- How to

As a workaround, you might consider following these steps in your Google Docs/Slides app to change the indent of a single line:

 

  1. Open the Google Docs app or the Google Slides app.
  2. Open the document, which you'd like to format.
  3. Place the cursor in the beginning of second line and tap on return.
  4. Tap Format Format.
  5. Tap on Paragraph.
  6. Tap on right indent.
  7. Place the cursor in the space that was created when you hit return in step 3, and tap on clear/delete button (X icon).

St. Mary Academy - Bay View Academic Honesty Policy

From the St. Mary Academy - Bay View Student Handbook (2013-14)

Cheating is defined as using dishonest methods to gain an advantage. This includes using any kind of secretive means of gaining information for use on quizzes, tests, lab reports or homework.  Cheating includes, but is not limited to: 

o Copying another’s answers on homework, quizzes, tests and/or exams (including copying files from another) 
o Concealing notes for a quiz, test, or exam
o Borrowing and/or copying all or part of another’s report, essay, term paper, etc.
o Coaching/advising or allowing a student to copy all or part of a test, quiz, exam or homework
o Coaching/advising a student who has to make up an exam, test, quiz as to the contents of the same
o Plagiarism*
o Misuse of technology


Plagiarism is defined as stealing and presenting both the ideas and words of another as one’s own, using a created production without crediting the source, or committing literary theft. Turning in a paper retrieved from any internet source (either free or for a fee) or including information from an encyclopedia, book, textbook, website, database, etc., without citation is plagiarism. A paper is considered plagiarized if any part of it is taken from another source without proper attribution (citations).  Plagiarism takes many forms, including, but not limited to, the following:
o Intentionally or unintentionally paraphrasing ideas from any outside source without proper acknowledgement.
o Copying word for word from any outside source without proper acknowledgement. This applies to the use of an entire paper, to the use of entire sections and paragraph, and to the use of a few words, phrases, and/or structure. This also includes non-textual material, including musical and artistic copyrighted compositions as well as theatrical and dance choreography.
o Submitting in whole, or in part, the work of another student.
o Submitting in whole, or in part, an assignment written for another course by someone else.
o Intentionally allowing one’s essay, assignment, or test answers to be copied by another student.
o Translating a foreign language piece by a translator

The What and Why of Citation

A citation includes all of the information that a person would need to find a particular resource.  The specific requirements are different for different types of materials (books, articles, images, websites, etc.), but the general idea is the same – a citation gives enough information to locate a resource.

Citation is done for two basic reasons:

1.  To give credit to the original authors/creators of the resource, and

2.  To allow the reader/viewer to look to original sources for further investigation

Learning when and how to create proper citations is an essential step in becoming responsible scholars.     

Citing a Personal Interview

Personal Interviews

Personal interviews are interviews that you conduct yourself.  List the interview by the name of the person interviewed. Include the descriptor "Personal interview" and the date of the interview.

For example:

Mary Jones. Personal interview. 1 Feb. 2013.