Skip to main content

Capt. Isaac Paine Elementary School Library: Parent Resources

Parent resources

 Ellie and I would like to welcome all CIP parents/guardians to YOUR special page. Click here to find out what's going on in the library.
 

International Reading Association

Children's Choices Reading lists  
 


Reading Is Fundamental

Children's Literacy Websites

  readwritethink
Parent & after school resources. Helping your child choose a good book
 
Reading Rockets
Articles for parents to help teach kids to read. 
 
NetSmartz Internet Safety
Parents guide for keeping   kids safe

Wonderopolis

    Each day, it poses an intriguing question and explores it in a variety of ways. It informs and encourages new questions, sparking new paths of wonder and discovery in family and classroom settings. 

ABCYA.com

Computer math, reading, keyboarding,& letter games for kids K-5

 

 

 

 

 

Storyline Online

Streaming video program featuring famous people reading children's books aloud!     

 

Guys Read

Mission "to help boys become self motivated life long learners." Founded by author, Jon Scieszka. Filled with loads of recommended reading lists plus other great suggestions.

A Mighty Girl

"founded on the belief that all children should have the opportunity to read books, play with toys, listen to music, and watch movies that offer positive messages about girls and honor their diverse capabilities. 

Notable Children's Books Created by the Association for Library Service for children

 

Great Web Sites for Kids!

ALA recommended web sites for Kids

Caldecott Award Books

Awarded to an artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children

 

Newberry Award Books

 

Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children

 

 

Coretta Scott King Award Books

Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature & graphic arts by American authors & illustrators

Rhode Island Children's Book Award (RICBA)

20 nominees (fiction & nonfiction) are selected by a committee of professionals for their literary value. Students in grades 3-6 choose the winning book

 

     

Kid Friendly Search Engines

Parent resource pdfs

Subject Guide

AskRI Databases

AskRI.org is RI's free statewide database system.  It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents.  Check it out - It's great!

Homework Help RI – Live tutoring by Internet chat is provided free of charge between 2PM and 10PM daily for grades K-12 in the following subjects: Math, Science, English, Social Studies, Writing.  This service is powered by tutor.com  Also includes Homework Resources section (lessons, study guides, worksheets and videos)

Career Center @Homework Help RI – Prepare for the SAT, ACT, standardized tests in all 50 states, graduate school entrance tests, civil service, GED etc.  Local open jobs, resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and much more for job seekers.

World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages.  Also includes Timelines, Ebooks, and Dramatic Learning.

Mango Languages – An online language-learning system  for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Heritage Quest – Genealogy Resources

Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work.  Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more. 

A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses

EBSCO Host – Databases include:

  • Literary Reference Center (Full-text database - similar to Gale’s Literature Resource Center)
  • Biography Collection Complete (Over 177,000 full text biographies)
  • Points of View ( Full Text Database that provides essays stating both sides of controversial issues)
  • Student Research Center (Search magazines, newspapers, book & encyclopedias, biographies, Radio & TV news transcripts, Country reports, State/Province reports, Primary source documents, Photos, Maps, Flags, Film & video)
  • MasterFILE (full text for 1700 periodicals)
  • GreenFILE (information about human impact to the environment)
  • MEDLINE (authoritative medical information)
  • ERIC & Teacher Reference Center
  • Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
  • Primary Search (full text magazine database for elementary students)
  • TOPICsearch (full text articles from newspapers and government information)
  • Academic Search Elite (full text for nearly 2100 journals)
  • History Reference Center (full text of 1600 Reference books, 150 periodicals, 57,000 historical documents, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 historical photos & maps, 80 hours of historical video)
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • Novelist (Readers’ Advisory for fiction books)