Skip to main content

Capt. Isaac Paine Elementary School Library: Research Toolbox

Kathy Schrock's Guide to Everything-Online Tools

web tools 2.0

AskRI Databases

AskRI.org is RI's free statewide database system.  It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents.  Check it out - It's great!

Career Center @Homework Help RI – Prepare for the SAT, ACT, standardized tests in all 50 states, graduate school entrance tests, civil service, GED etc.  Local open jobs, resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and much more for job seekers.

World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages.  Also includes Timelines, Ebooks, and Dramatic Learning.

Mango Languages – An online language-learning system  for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Heritage Quest – Genealogy Resources

Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work.  Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more. 

A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses

EBSCO Host – Databases include:

  • Literary Reference Center (Full-text database - similar to Gale’s Literature Resource Center)
  • Biography Collection Complete (Over 177,000 full text biographies)
  • Points of View ( Full Text Database that provides essays stating both sides of controversial issues)
  • Student Research Center (Search magazines, newspapers, book & encyclopedias, biographies, Radio & TV news transcripts, Country reports, State/Province reports, Primary source documents, Photos, Maps, Flags, Film & video)
  • MasterFILE (full text for 1700 periodicals)
  • GreenFILE (information about human impact to the environment)
  • MEDLINE (authoritative medical information)
  • ERIC & Teacher Reference Center
  • Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
  • Primary Search (full text magazine database for elementary students)
  • TOPICsearch (full text articles from newspapers and government information)
  • Academic Search Elite (full text for nearly 2100 journals)
  • History Reference Center (full text of 1600 Reference books, 150 periodicals, 57,000 historical documents, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 historical photos & maps, 80 hours of historical video)
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • Novelist (Readers’ Advisory for fiction books)

AskRI: EBSCO-Search Databases for Articles

Duckster.com

Education Sites For: History, Geography, Science, Biography, Sports, Arts, Games

World Book Kids

World Book Discover

World Book Student

World Book Early Peoples

World Book Inventions & Discoveries

Culture Grams

DK Online Encyclopedia

   DK Find Out 

 Online Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia.com

            

AskKids.com

                 

Internet Public Library

                      

Best Websites 2015 AASL

 

Kid Friendly Search Engines

 

               

                                           

 

  

 

Type in the words "facts for kids" after search term without the quotes

Fact Monster

Gooru

Search rich collections of multimedia resources for learners

instaGrok

Research any topic with an interactive concept map, that you can customize and share 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

 Dictionary  Thesaurus

Word Central

Word Central 

Merriam-Webster's Word Central now reprogrammed for superior word power and language fun.

Introducing…Alpha-bot! The word-spelling robot hosts the latest amazing word game and challenges for spellers of all ages.

One Look Dictionaries

                  

Khan Academy

                

eNature Field Guides

              

Answers.com

                           

Thesaurus.com