Skip to main content

Award Winning Book Guide: Caldecott

2014 Recipient

Image courtesy of American Library Association

The 2014 winner of the Caldecott Medal is Locomotive by Brian Floca.

All aboard! Accompany a family on an unforgettable weeklong train trip from Omaha to Sacramento in 1869. Brian Floca’s dramatic watercolor, ink, acrylic and gouache illustrations incorporate meticulously-researched portraits of the train, the travelers and the crew as they traverse the American landscape on the new transcontinental railroad.(ALA)

The book trailer:



Find out more baout Brian Floca at his website.

2013 Recipient

Image courtesy of American Library Association

The 2013 winner of the Caldecott Medal was This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen.

What happens when a little fish steals a hat? You'll have to read to find out!

You can learn more at the links below:

Where can I find these books?

Once you've found a title you like, there are several ways to access it...

More information about this award

Who was Randolph Caldecott? What other books have received this honor? Click below to find out!