Alan Shawn Feinstein Middle School Library : Parent Resources

Click on the links below to download helpful information prepared by CPS Librarians. 

AskRI.org is RI's free statewide database system.  It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents.  Check it out - It's great!

World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages.  Also includes World Book Digital Libraries: Living Green, Early Peoples, Inventions & Discoveries, and Dramatic Learning

Mango Languages – An online language-learning system  for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work.  Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more. 

A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses

EBSCO Host – Databases include:

• Literary Reference Center (Full-text database - similar to Gale’s Literature Resource Center)
• Biography Collection Complete (Over 177,000 full text biographies)
• Points of View ( Full Text Database that provides essays stating both sides of controversial issues)
• Student Research Center (Search magazines, newspapers, book & encyclopedias, biographies, Radio & TV news transcripts, Country reports, State/Province reports, Primary source documents, Photos, Maps, Flags, Film & video)
• MasterFILE (full text for 1700 periodicals)
• GreenFILE (information about human impact to the environment)
• MEDLINE (authoritative medical information)
• ERIC & Teacher Reference Center
• Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
• Primary Search (full text magazine database for elementary students)
• TOPICsearch (full text articles from newspapers and government information)
• Academic Search Elite (full text for nearly 2100 journals)
• History Reference Center (full text of 1600 Reference books, 150 periodicals, 57,000 historical documents, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 historical photos & maps, 80 hours of historical video)
• Auto Repair Reference Center
• Novelist (Readers’ Advisory for fiction books)

United Way 211 - Get information, Deal with a problem or crisis, discover options. 

NetSmartz Workshop is an educational program created by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children® It provides age-appropriate resources to help teach children and teens how to be safe online.

Excellent Article from KidsHealth.org that explains Internet safety, including the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act.