Grade 7 Research: Databases
Infobase/Facts on File
We pay for this database so this should be your first research step.
Go to Facts on File or click on the image above.
We pay for the use of SEVEN Infobase/Facts on File databases:
- History Research Center
- African-American History
- American History
- American Indian History
- Ancient & Medieval History
- Modern World History
- World Religions
All of these databases have a read-aloud feature and a citation feature available.
NAACP
Click on the image above or click here.
This is an organization and there is a "donate" button so proceed with caution. Remember when you are evaluating a source you are thinking about the purpose of what you are reading. To teach? Inform? Sell? Entertain? Persuade?
However, you may find a helpful source, particularly if you are researching a civil rights-era activist.
Library of Congress
Click on the image above or click here.
AskRI.org
Go to www.askri.org or click on the image above.
If you are a Rhode Island resident, AskRI.org has a variety of free resources available to you!
The databases Barrington Middle School students may find helpful for research are:
- World Book Encyclopedia
- Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
- Explora
- History Reference Center
- Biography Reference Center
Many of these databases have a read-aloud feature and a citation feature available.
National Women's History Museum
Click on the image above or click here.
If you are researching a female activist from the past, this site may have something for you.
PBS
Click on the image above or click here.
African American Civil Rights Network
This is a government-run National Parks site that has been vetted. Be sure to check it out.
Click on the image above or click here.
National Archives
Click on the image above or click here.
Wikipedia
Click on the image above or click here.
This one may seem controversial so please hear me out. Wikipedia may be useful to the researcher. You may look up your person of interest and head to the end of the article where you can click on sources used to create the entry. Now it is up to you to evaluate those sources so you will need to use a critical eye. Refer to the home page for details on how to evaluate a source.