Cranston High School East Library: Stark - Writing Your Literature Research Paper

Bloom's Literature contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts on File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

Username: cranston-east
Password: thunderbolts

The password is cran_log.
Literature Resource Center includes up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

The password is cran_log.
Gale eBooks is a collection of eBooks in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  

The Literary Reference Center on http://AskRI.org is a great resource for literary criticism. Use this database in addition to the criticism found in the Gale Literature Resource Center.  No password is needed to access this database.

Usename: chse

Password: thunderbolts

Includes ebooks on a variety of literary and historical topics

NEW!!!  Access the Gale Databases from your mobile device!

Choose Cranston High School East and the password is cran_log. 

American Association of School LIbrarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner:

1.1.1    Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.

1.1.2    Use prior and background knowledge as context for new learning.

1.1.3    Develop and refine a range of questions to frame the search for new understanding.

1.1.4    Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.  

1.1.5    Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context. 

1.1.6    Read, view, and listen for information presented in any format (e.g., textual, visual, media, digital) in order to make inferences and gather meaning.

1.1.7    Make sense of information gathered from diverse sources by identifying misconceptions, main and supporting ideas, conflicting information, and point of view or bias.  

1.1.8   Demonstrate mastery of technology tools for accessing information and pursuing inquiry. 

1.3.1    Respect copyright/intellectual property rights of creators and producers.

1.3.2    Seek divergent perspectives during information gathering and assessment.

1.3.3    Follow ethical and legal guidelines in gathering and using information.

1.3.5    Use information technology responsibly.

Common Core State Standards:

CC.9-10.L.3.a Knowledge of Language: Write and edit work so that it conforms to the guidelines in a style manual (e.g., MLA Handbook, Turabian’s Manual for Writers) appropriate for the discipline and writing type.

CC.11-12.RI.1Cite strong and thorough textual evidence to support analysis of what the text says explicitly as well as inferences drawn from the text, including determining where the text leaves matters uncertain.

CC.11-12.R.L.9 Integration of Knowledge and Ideas: Demonstrate knowledge of eighteenth-, nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century foundational works of American literature, including how two or more texts from the same period treat similar themes or topics.

CC.11-12.W.8 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and overreliance on any one source and following a standard format for citation.

CC.11-12.W.9 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Draw evidence form literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.

CC.11-12.W.10 Range of Writing: Write routinely over extended time frames (time for research, reflection, and revision) and shorter time frames (a single sitting or a day or two) for a range of tasks, purposes, and audiences.

Use the CHSE Library Catalog to search for books on your topic.  Follow the directions below to log in to the library catalog and request books from other schools. 

Please follow these steps to log in to the CHSE Library Catalog and place a book on hold from another library:

1. Click advanced search (in blue) in the above "Search the CHSE  Library Catalog" box.
2. Click the login button in the top right hand corner.
3. Type in your username and password. (Username=CHE plus your student ID# Password= your birthday in the following format:  MMDDYY)
4. Select "RICAT (All members)" from the "location" dropdown menu.
5. Search for a book.
6. Click on title of the book you want to place on hold.
7. Click on the "Hold It" icon in the uper right corner (above green arrow).
8. Click on Save and you are done.  We will send a notice to your homeroom when your book arrives.  

To renew your books, click on the "Circulation" tab and then type in the complete barcode found on your book. 

To view your library record (items out, fines, hold requests, etc.), click on the "My Info." tab. 

Use the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources. 

The Purdue Owl guide to MLA is the authority on citation.  This guide contains easy-to-understand directions on formatting citations, in-text (parethetical) citations, and works cited pages in MLA format.

Created by the CHSE English Department, this guide provides step-by-step directions for writing a research paper and includes directions for citing sources.  Click on the link below to download the "Writing the Research Paper" guide.