Skip to Main Content

Cranston High School East Library: Watts - 19th Century New Imperialism

Topic List

Topics: 

  • Social Darwinism
  • Jingoism
  • British Empire
  • "Scramble for Africa"
  • Boer War
  • Opium Wars/Boxer Rebellion
  • Industrial Revolution
  • "White Man's Burden"
  • Berlin Conf. of 1884
  • Belgian Congo
  • French Indochina
  • Suez Canal
  • Fashoda Incident
  • Moroccan Crises of 1905 and 1911

 

Standards

American Association of School Librarians - Standards for the 21st Century Learner:

1.1.1    Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.

1.1.4    Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.  

1.1.5    Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context. 

1.1.6    Read, view, and listen for information presented in any format (e.g., textual, visual, media, digital) in order to make inferences and gather meaning.

1.1.7    Make sense of information gathered from diverse sources by identifying misconceptions, main and supporting ideas, conflicting information, and point of view or bias.

1.3.1    Respect copyright/intellectual property rights of creators and producers.

1.3.2    Seek divergent perspectives during information gathering and assessment.

1.3.3    Follow ethical and legal guidelines in gathering and using information.

2.1.2    Organize knowledge so that it is useful.

Common Core State Standards:

CC.9-10.R.I.1 Key Ideas and Details: Cite strong and thorough textual evidence to support analysis of what the text says explicitly as well as inferences drawn from the text.

CC.9-10.SL.4 Presentation of Knowledge and Ideas: Present information, findings, and supporting evidence clearly, concisely, and logically such that listeners can follow the line of reasoning and the organization, development, substance, and style are appropriate to purpose, audience, and task.

CC.9-10.W.1 Text Types and Purposes: Write arguments to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.

CC.9-10.W.7 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.

Student resources in Context

 

 

 

The password is cran_log
‚Äč
Gale in Context includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database.

Gale eBooks

The password is cran_log.
Gale eBooks is a collection of eBooks in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  

History Reference Center

The History Reference Center contains a weath of information about American and World History.  You can access it by clicking on the icon above, or by going to the Ebsco database section on http://askri.org

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Free Online Citation Creators

Use the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources.

 

Purdue OWL MLA Citation Guide

The Purdue Owl guide is the authority on citation and MLA Format.