Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites and Databases
These are safe and accurate websites and databases for researching this project. Not all animals will be found on every site!
Look in the menu bar along the top and click on "animals." Click on the classification to find your animal.
Locate the green "Animals" box on the right. Type your animal's name in the "Quick Find" box.
Smithsonian National Zoological Park
Locate the "Animal Index" box on the left. Click on the classification. If the animal's name is written in BLUE, there is a fact page available. Click on the name.
You may find information about your animal here. Locate the search box on the right. Type your animal's name.
National Geographic Wildlife
Click on the animal classification on the left. Then scroll to find your animal.
Type your animal name in the search box. Select a book. Use the index on the last page of the book to locate your animal. Then type the page number in the page box.
StarWalk Kids Media
Ask Mrs. Gaiewski for the username and password. Use the KEYWORD SEARCH to type in your animal name. Find the nonfiction books to gather information.
World Book Student
Type the name of your planet in the search box. Choose the best article to continue your research.
Try these databases! Type your animal name in the search box.
Books from our Catalog
Use our library catalog to locate books about your animal.
Animals books can be found in several places in our library. You may browse the bookshelves in the Everybody Nonfiction and Nonfiction sections. Look for these Dewey Decimal numbers.
There are also several animal books in the reference section.
REF 590 BUR The First Encyclopedia of Animals
REF 590 FAX The Kingfisher First Animal Encyclopedia
REF 590 JAC Anmals
REF 590 PRI Scholastic Encyclopedia of Animals
The Student Discovery Encyclopedia
World Book Encyclopedia
Go to our library catalog and locate "WebPath Express" on the left. Click on "WebPathExpress," then type your animal in the box. Be careful to use a reliable website from this list. Remember, if it's made by KIDS, it's not a good research site!