Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Protocol PD: Google vs. Databases

Databases vs. Search Engines like Google

When it's a good idea to use the Internet...

The internet is best for general searches, not for research papers, although it is a good way to do preliminary research to get a topic or search terms to use when searching the databases.
 
Use it when you...
  • have the URL for a specific website
  • communicate with your friends
  • want entertainment information (movies, restaurants)
  • need info from a foreign website (for example add site:uk to search British sites)
  • want to search a government site (put site:gov before your search term)

Why You Need Library Databases for Research

What are the differences between databases and websites?

Library databases

Websites

  • Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field.
  • Websites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
  • Library databases contain published works where facts are checked.
  • Website content is not necessarily checked by an expert.
  • Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you.
  • Websites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
  • Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects.
  • Websites often aren’t organized to support student research needs.
  • Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication.
  • Websites may not indicate when a page is updated.

Content from Roberts Wesleyan College Website

*** Also, remember that Academic Journals and other Periodicals do not put their content on the Web for free. You cannot access database articles from a search engine such as Google.

Information Overload