RILINK Schools: North Smithfield High School Library: 1960s/1970s/1980s:

CNN:

The Sixties:

CNN Original Series: "The Sixties" explores the landmark era of cultural, political, and technological change during the 1960s, infusing new relevance to the cultural touchstones that changed the world.

Library of Congress:

Civil Rights History Project:

"The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide variety of topics within the civil rights movement, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists.This site also includes a section of essays and articles related to civil rights topics."

The Miller Center:

U.S. Presidents:

"A nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history."

MLA formatting and examples:

Information for citing sources in MLA format:
Formats and examples for the most commonly used MLA citations.

CNN:

The Seventies:

Examining the decade through its politics, culture and historic events.

Digital Public Library of America:

Digital Public Library of America:
"All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format."

Defining Documents in American History: The 1960s (eBook):

This important resource provides students with new insights into the 1960s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history.

Password: northmen

World History in Context Database:

This resource will help students gain a more complete understanding of the people and cultures that formed our collective history.

The NS High School Password for this database is ns30344

CNN:

The Eighties:

The CNN Original Series "The Eighties" explores this totally rad decade and its cultural, political, and technological impact on today.

Issues & Controversies in American History Database:

This database delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.

username: nshs

password: northmen

General Information:

Find articles on a variety of topics related to the 1920s!