Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Narragansett High School Library: Huck Finn

Home page for Narragansett HS LibGuides

NHS Database/eBook Passwords

Databases for Current News to Explore

Databases available:

  • eLibrary--A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content.
  • SIRS Issues Researcher--An editorial curated pro/con database that meets the research needs of students and educators by providing premium content correlated to key curricular standards and subjects. 
  • Proquest--The Proquest unified platform makes hundreds of full text and A&I (abstract and index) collections available to researchers.  Includes Research Library and Historical Newspapers.

Databases Available:

EBSCO Host:

  • MasterFILE Premier
  • TOPICsearch

Lateral Reading Technique--A Tool for Evaluating Sources

Major News to Explore

          

 

     

 

 

Basic Search Terms--Tools to Help You Search More Effectively

undefined

Boolean Operators
You can use more than one Boolean Operator in the same search; however, there is an order that is prioritized during the search.  The priority is NOT, AND, OR.  This means that the search engine will combine the search terms enclosed with NOT first, then search the words combined with AND, then OR.  You should combine your search terms and Boolean Operators with sets of parentheses to separate each search, and use quotation marks around multi-word phrases.

 

Example:

You are searching for information on the benefits of bilingualism on children. Type your search as follows:

(bilingualism OR multilingualism) AND (children OR "young adults")  

This search will return hits including at least one of the terms "bilingualism" or "multilingualism" and also one of the terms "children" or "young adults."

Truncation--using * or ?
Truncation allows a search engine to search for multiple variations (spelling and word endings) of the word being searched.  When truncating, the symbol * or ? are commonly used.  Check the database's rules to see which symbol it uses for truncation.  

 

Example:

If searching for information on athletes, truncate it by typing in:

athlet*

This will search for various forms of this word--such as athlete, athletics, athleticism, etc.

Phrase Searching--using " "
Phrase searching is the most widely used search technique.  Phrase searching is done by putting quotation marks " " around phrases of words.  This tells the search engine to look for that phrase exactly as it is written--it will keep those words together during the search.

 

Example:

When searching for information on the benefits of green living, type the search phrase with quotation marks around it. 

"green living"

Typing it this way will allow search engine to look for those words together, not separate.  If you didn't put quotation marks around the phrase, your search would bring back results of any information that had the word green, and/or living, and/or green living.  Your results would certainly contain information that doesn't have anything to do with the topic of living in an eco-friendly way (aka green living).

Subject Headings
When searching for information in a database or library catalog, each of the items listed has a MARC record.  The MARC record is a digital description of each item in the database or catalog.  The MARC record provides important information for the person looking for sources.  It provides a summary of the item, bibliographic information, and subject headings.  Subject headings are terms that help capture the essence of the topic of the source.  If a source shares a subject heading with a different source, the subject heading will usually be hyperlinked.  Click on the hyperlink to conduct a search of other sources that are organized by the same heading.  Also, notice the subject heading topics...these might give you some ideas of additional terms used to represent the subject you are searching.  See the example below. 

 

Examples: Click on the image

undefined

undefined