Skip to main content

Cranston High School East Library: eBooks

Follett Shelf

Over 1700 eBooks are available for you to check out by logging in to your CHSE Library account. 

Username: cra + your student ID number

Password: your student ID number

To read these eBooks on a phone or tablet:

  1. Click on Destiny Discover
  2. Choose RI as location and CHSE as school
  3. Log in with your username + password

A direct link to the CHSE Destiny Discover Catalog is https://wbb11812.follettshelf.com 

eBooks are the first section in Destiny Discover.  

  • If an eBook is available, you will see two options: Open and Checkout. To preview the eBook, choose Open. To borrow the eBook, which will add it to your device, choose Checkout. If you want to read the eBook, be sure to check it out. If an eBook is not available, you have the option to place a Hold so you can read it when it is returned.
  • You may check out more than one eBook at a time.

Destiny Read App:

  • Download the Destiny Read app on your smartphone, tablet, or e-reader.
  • Open the app. In the Location box, find Rhode Island.
  • In the Schools box, start typing "Cranston" and you should see Cranston High School East.
  • Log in (username CRA + lunch number (example: CRA12345) , password - lunch number)
  • Your eBooks will appear. Click the 3 lines for the menu options.
  • eBooks will automatically be returned on their due date. You can return an eBook earlier by clicking "Remove."

Read Books Online with Teen Book Cloud - Free until 8/31

Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

TBC is an online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audio books, which offers students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content.

ABDO Digital Books!

Abdo Digital Bookshelf online digital library

During the COVID-19 outbreak,  ABDO digital, an eBook subscription service, is offering their content to us for FREE! Click the icon to access fiction and nonfiction books for all grade levels. 

 

 

Shakespeare e-Books

The complete works of William Shakespeare available through MIT.

World Book e-Books

250+ eBooks for a variety of age levels. 

Project Gutenberg

Over 46,000 free eBooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

OpenLibrary.org

Over 250,000 free eBooks. Create a free account to borrow from this site. 

Online-Literature.org

Online classic literature and poems by numerous writers

Junior Library Guild

Junior Library Guild has made their entire digital eBook collection free at this time. Click the link above and then scroll down to "elementary", "middle", or "high school" to browse the books. Junior Library Guild does not require an account, and you can download the JLG IOS app here to read these books on the go.

Elementary
Username: JLGELM
Password: JLGFREE
Middle School
Username: JLGMID
Password: JLGFREE
High School
Username: JLGHI
Password: JLGFREE

 

Ocean State Libraries E-Zone

Click on OSL eZone to borrow eBooks and audiobooks through your public library.  You'll need a public library card to borrow from the eZone.  To register for a public library card or renew your public library card, you or your parent can click on https://www.oslri.org/application/ 

Audible

Audible is offering free audiobooks during our COVID-19 virtual learning. 

Capstone English and Spanish Resources

We now have TEMPORARY access to Capstone Interactive eBooks and databases, during the COVID-19 outbreak.

There are three separate databases

Student Access Instructions:

  • PebbleGo (English & Spanish) for Grades K-3:
    • Visit www.pebblego.com and click "Sign In"
    • Username: engaged
    • Password: learning
  • PebbleGo Next for Grades 3-5:
    • Visit www.pebblegonext.com and click "Log In"
    • Make sure to log in with "Pebblegonext"
    • Username: engaged
    • Password: learning
  • Capstone Interactive eBooks for all ages:
    • Visit www.mycapstonelibrary.com and click "Log In"
    • Make sure to log in with "Capstone Interactive"
    • Username: continue
    • Password: reading

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The password is cran_log.
Gale Virtual Reference Center is a collection of e-books in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  

Internet Archive Books to Borrow

Logged in patrons can borrow books from Internet Archive Books to Borrow for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, a free piece of software used for managing loans. Click on register to create a virtual library card for the Internet Archives.  For more information, click on FAQs about borrowing books

Google Books

Search for books by title, author or subject.  Some books are availble in their entirety, others have select chapters that can be read for free online.