Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mount Saint Charles Academy Library: Research

Credo Reference

Academic Search Elite

Image result for academic search elite

Academic Search Elite

Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Digital Public Library of America

Biography Reference Center

Image result for biography reference center askri

Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center is available in its own interface and offers many top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines including more than 436,000 full-text biographies and thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Consumer Health Complete

Image result for Consumer Health Complete askri

Consumer Health Complete

EBSCO’s interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Science Direct

EBSCO Discovery Service

Image result for EBSCO discovery service askri

EBSCO Discovery Service

A single search box for direct access to full-text content available through AskRI databases.

ERIC

ERIC 

Offers access to education literature and resources. Database contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents

Explora

Image result for Explora Educator’s Edition askri

Explora Educator's Edition

Highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

History Reference Center

Logo - Link to Search

History Reference Center

World’s most comprehensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and nonfiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, and contains more than 61,100 historical documents; more than 66,000 historical biographies; more than 110,200 photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Literary Reference Center

Logo - Link to Search

Literary Reference Center

Comprehensive database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Full-text database of more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies; also includes over 693,000 book reviews, author interviews and information on classic and contemporary poems , short stories, classic texts and more.

Points of View

Logo - Link to Search

Points of View

Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Medline

Image result for medical

Medline

Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical science and much more. This resource uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Explora for Secondary Schools

Image result for Explora for Secondary Schools askri

Explora for Secondary Schools

Explora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use interface and updated functionality like the cite button.

Current Events Database

TOPICSearch

 

 

Topicsearch 

Current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms

Greenfile

Greenfile

 

 

Greenfile Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

 

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus

 

 

Middle Search Plus

Contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines, as well as thousands of biographies and historical essays. Also includes primary source documents, reference books and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier

 

 

MasterFILE Premier

Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.

Biography Reference Bank

Biography_Reference_Bank_button_100x50

Biography Reference Bank


Biography Reference Bank is an essential full-text database for biographical research in any discipline, such as women’s studies, cultural studies, media studies and more

 

 

Highwire Press (Science)

Flipster

Flipster logo

 

Flipster offers an easy, browse-able reading experience. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific periodicals. An online newsstand provides a carousel of the most recent issues, as well as a carousel of all issues allowing for quick access to magazines.

Flipster

Novelist

 

NoveList - Link to Search

Novelist

Novelist Readers’ advisory tool provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles and a wide range of feature content to enable library staff to serve fiction readers of all ages. Includes author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.

 

 

JSTOR

JSTOR Home     

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articlesbooks, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

 

JSTOR

Get More Out of Google

Get More Out of Google