Skip to main content

North Smithfield High School Library: Home

North Smithfield High School Library:

Welcome to the North Smithfield High School Library site!

Here, students and teachers have access to our library catalog, databases and many pages/guides for more specific resources to support a variety of projects and topics related to the curriculum.

 

North Smithfield High School Library Catalog:

(search for materials)

Find:

Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

 

  • Students can login to their individual library accounts on the catalog with the same username and password information used for parent portal. 
  • Use the catalog above to search for materials owned by the high school library as well as materials owned by other school libraries around the state.
  • To search for materials outside our library, change the search location from "North Smithfield High School" to "RICAT." 
  • If we do not own what you are looking for, you can request that it be sent here.
  • See Mrs. Camara with any questions/issues.

**If requesting materials from an off-site library, we receive deliveries every Thursday.**

Online Resources:

New Library Materials:

Check out this Pinterest board for the newest print library additions!

New York Times:

"Since 1851, The New York Times has been on the ground reporting stories from around the globe that no one else was telling. How we tell those stories has changed, but our mission to seek the truth and help people understand the world has remained constant."

**Unlimited access on school grounds only**

*No username or password required*

 

NPR:

Today's Science Database:

Today’s Science features thousands of original articles—using easy-to-understand, engaging language—by scientists and science journalists, based on the most current peer-reviewed journal articles. 

username: nshs

 password: northmen

World History in Context Database:

This resource will help students gain a more complete understanding of the people and cultures that formed our collective history.

The NS High School Password for this database is ns30344

Issues & Controversies in American History Database:

This database delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.

username: nshs

 password: northmen

MLA formatting and examples:

For further information on MLA citations, In-text citations, Annotated bibliographies and more...

 

Bloom's Literature Database:

Bloom's Literary Reference Online features hundreds of essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world.

username: nshs

password: northmen

Askri.org:

Free resources provided to Rhode Island residents including EBSCO, which contains quality information on a wide variety of topics.

Google Scholar:

"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature."

Culture Grams:

username: rilinkcgrams

password: cgrams

**Username and password only required when off school grounds**

Librarian:

Jessica Camara's picture
Jessica Camara
Contact:
North Smithfield High School Library
412 Greenville Rd.
North Smithfield, RI 02896
4017662500

Library Information:

Library Hours:

Monday, Wednesday,Thursday:

7:15-4:00

Tuesday and Friday:

7:15-2:30

Rhode Island Public Library catalog:

Printer access for chromebooks:

Use the link above to add library printer privileges to your chromebook!

North Smithfield High School Interlibrary Loan and Service Policies:

Service Policy:

  • The North Smithfield High School library is open to all NS students and staff.

  • North Smithfield High School (NSJ) students, school district staff members, and parents may check out library materials.

  • Overdue fines are 5¢ per day with a limit of $5.00 per item.

  • Lost and/or damaged library materials must be paid for or replaced. Please speak to the librarian if you believe this situation applies to you.

Interlibrary Loan:

  • All items in circulation are available for interlibrary loan.

  • Library staff and patrons can submit interlibrary loan requests.

  • Local patron hold requests take precedence over interlibrary loan requests for the same item.

  • Items that are specifically reserved for in-library or classroom use are temporarily excluded from interlibrary loan as needed.

  • Students/staff are responsible for any fees acquired through an outside interlibrary loan institution.

  • Lost or significantly damaged items must be paid for at the cost of replacement. In certain circumstances, a replacement copy may be accepted.

  • Students and staff may request that materials be renewed.

  • Materials are delivered each Thursday.