Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stream videos on thousands of topics!
Culture Grams Countries
Learn about every country in the world!
Life science, earth science, and physical science resources!
Learn about our 50 states!
Databases: Ask RI
Points of View Database
Writing an argument paper? Preparing for a debate? Check out this database with popular, current events topics, offering information from both sides of the topic!
Ask RI is a collection of databases and information that is free to all residents of Rhode Island. Find primary source documents, newspapers, biographies, and much more!
K-8 Ebook Collection
A collection of fiction and nonfiction eBooks available for student use. For the password, please contact your library media specialist.
Databases: World Book
The redesigned and upgraded version of World Book Online Reference Center, includes the articles of the World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more. Text-to-speech is included in this version.
Designed for older students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedic, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. This version includes a text to speech feature.
Offers explanation of green building and transportation; examines cause and effects of pollution; and gives overview of major ecosystems.
This version of World Book is designed for differentiated instruction, includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video.
This database explores the history and cultures of early civilizations like Egyptians, Mayans, Greeks, and Romans.
This database examines the greatest discoveries in several fields.
This database uses dramatic readings of plays to help students gain reading fluency, understand core concepts, and internalize content. With ties to curriculum correlations and a wealth of surrounding material, including activities, lesson plans, and mini-inquiry projects, Dramatic Learning ties World Book’s differentiated content to a way of learning that excites students and teachers alike!
Top Reasons to Use Databases
Databases on Destiny Discover
This screencast shows how to use Destiny Discover to find great websites for research. Please note this was set up for 5th grade students so please adjust reading level accordingly. Also please consider this was set up for a general search. If you have results from a website that is an expert on the subject that appears separately that can be a great choice.
This screencast focuses on finding newspaper and magazine articles. Please note EBSCO - Primary Search will generally work best for 5th and 6th grade. Seventh and Eighth graders may want to use EBSCO - Middle Search Plus while those doing research at at challenging level may want to use EBSCO - Academic Search Elite.
The database option also allows students to find World Book Encyclopedia articles on their subject. This screencast was developed for 5th graders and focuses on how to use the tools and features available on World Book Student.
Struggling readers can be well served by using World Book Discover. This will not look like World Book Student.
Students in 7th and 8th grade may want to choose World Book Advanced rather than World Book Student. World Book Advanced offers eBooks and primary source materials not available on World Book Student. World Book Advanced articles will look like World Book Student articles.