Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access eBooks from the CMS Library on Destiny Discover with your device. Or, check out other eBooks sources below!
Ebooks & Digital Audio
Authors Everywhere is a YouTube channel full of videos by authors.
Ebsco K-8 Ebook Collection
The eBook K-8 Collection contains over 7,900 titles chosen to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools, and content aligns with Common Core Curriculum Standards (for participating U.S. states).This is a great resource for nonfiction reading and also contains some fiction books.
There are free ebooks available through this site however, this is also a site that is trying to sell books. Search for "free ebooks" in the search box.
International Children's Digital Library
The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge.
Learning at Home Resources
This collection is curated by author Kate Messner. She includes many read alouds from popular middle grade authors!
Ocean State Libraries Ezone
Browse, check out, and download best selling digital titles 24/7 to your PC and PDA at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. Now you can hear Audio Books and Music, or view eBooks and Videos--Free. Digital media can be downloaded and listened to on your home PC, burned to CD for your car stereo, and transferred to many supported portable devices--all without leaving the comfort of your home. All OSL Rhode Island public library card holders can use this service.
Offers over 38,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. They carry high quality ebooks: All the ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. Project Gutenberg digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Riveted, from publisher Simon Teen, is a site that provides excerpts AND full-reads of some of the most popular teen titles!
Stimola Live is a website of live stream events for kids, tweens, teens and the adults who read and make children’s books. All events are hosted by professional authors and illustrators represented by Stimola Literary Studio.
Sync from AudioFile Magazine
From late April through early August, AudioFile offers a new pair of audiobooks every week! The titles are usually paired thematically, and are specifically selected to appeal to teen readers. They are generally a mix of popular current titles and classics.
World Book Ebooks
Ebooks available FREE to anyone in Rhode Island through Ask RI. Subjects include animals, biographies, world cultures, the environment, health, history, folklore, space, technology, and more.
Temporary Access to Free Ebooks
Junior Library Guild
Temporary trial from Junior Library Guild, offering fiction and non fiction ebooks and audiobooks.
How to Check Out an Ebook
How to use an EBSCO eBook
EBSCO eBooks are often linked to a research page on this LibGuide. You will also be able to search for EBSCO eBooks if you go to the CMS library media center page. Under the "research" column there is a link for "eBooks". Click on the k-8 collection. It may ask you for a password. Please contact us for password info.
How to use World Book eBooks
World Book eBooks may be linked to through the LibGuides on a research page. They also may come up as a result in a search done on Destiny Discover.
Have another device at home? Mackin Via has an app that is available for the iPhone, iPad, iPod, Mac desktop, Android smartphones and tablets, Nook Tablet, Kindle Tablet, and the Chromebook!