In order to open the lightbox you may need to log on with your student id/lunch code as your username and your birthdate as your password. This lightbox contains information on: where the Iroquis lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and wampum.
In order to open the lightbox you may need to log on with your student id/lunch code as your username and your birthdate as your password. This lightbox contains information on: where the Ojibwa lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and creation myth.
Click on eBooks. Search for "Indians". Choose Indians of Eastern North America. Use the Table of Contents tool to identify the chapter you want or the search box to look for keywords. RL 7.2
Dense forests, streams, mirror lakes, and waterfalls were home to the Iroquois, the Cherokee, the Ojibwa, and others. The typical life of these Eastern Woodland Indians is seen through an Ojibwa family. They hunted deer and other game animals in the forest; fished and trapped in the rivers and lakes; and made their homes from what the forest provided them. (29:22 min)
In order to open the lightbox you may need to logon with your student id/lunch code as your username and your birthdate as your password. This lightbox contains information on: where the Cherokee lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and games.If you need to logon use your student id number/lunch code and your six digit birthdate as password.
Traditional ways of life, including social structure, homes, food, art, clothing, and more are covered. A map highlights the tribe's homeland, while fun facts and a timeline with photos help break up the text. Use the table of contents to find information. (charihoms/Chargers1!) RL 4.1
The Cherokee Indians used their rich land to grow corn, beans, and squash. They built their houses close together to form villages that were governed by a chief, who helped with day-to-day matters. (1:36 min)
This title teaches readers about the first people to live in the Southeast region of North America. It discusses their culture, customs, ways of life, interactions with other settlers, and their lives today.Use the table of contents and index to find information. (charihoms/Chargers1!) RL 6.3
Traditional ways of life, including social structure, homes, food, art, clothing, and more are covered. A map highlights the tribe's homeland, while fun facts and a timeline with photos help break up the text. Use the table of contents to find information. (charihoms/Chargers1!) RL 4.2
This lightbox contains information on: where the Inuit lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and code talkers. If you need to log on use your student id number/lunch code and your six digit birthdate.
Click on eBooks. Search for "Indian". Choose Indians of the Northwest Coast and Plateau. Use the Table of Contents tool at the top to find chapters with the information you need. You can also use the magnifying glass tool to search for keywords that you are researching. RL 7.2
These people of the coast have many names: Tlinget, Haida, Salish, Tsimshian. Different names and different languages, yet they share a common background of survival along the rugged coastlines and dense forests. The coastal Indians fished the rivers and streams, hunted and trapped in the forest, built longhouses from cedar, and carved many intricate items such as totem poles and masks. This video provides a portrait of these people in their day to day lives. (26:17 min)
This lightbox contains information on: where the Navajo lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and code talkers. If you need to logon use your student id number/lunch code and your six digit birthdate.
An exploration of the Pueblo, covering homes, clothing, religion, music, dance, language, arts, and more. Includes audio, videos, activities, weblinks, slideshows, transparencies, maps, quizzes, and supplementary resources.
Choose eBooks. Search for "Indians" and then choose Indians of the Southwest. Use the Table of Contents tool to find the chapter you need and the search box to look for keywords. (charihoms/Chargers1!) RL 7.2
An authentic recreation of an Anasazi cliff dwelling village shows how these ancestors of the modern Southwest tribes adapted to their environment. Their lifestyle and cultural development are seen through the everyday experiences of an Indian family. The father and son provide weapons, hunt for food, and trade with other tribes. The mother and daughter prepare food, make clothes, and create pottery for dishes. (28:34 min)
This lightbox contains information on: where the Sioux lived, their homes, society, clothing, diet, tools and weapons, religion, ceremonies and celebrations, music and dance, language, arts and crafts, and Chief Sitting Bull. If you need to logon you will use your student id number/lunch code and your six digit birthdate is the password.
Choose eBooks. Search for "Indians" and choose Indians of the Plains and Great Basin. Use the Table of Contents tool to identify the chapter that has the info you need or use the search tool to look for a keyword. RL 7.2
The Crow, Arapaho, and Sioux---these and others were the tribes of the plains. They were nomadic tribes that hunted the buffalo, which provided food, clothing, and building materials for their homes, tools, and weapons. Following a Sioux family, we see what happens during the day---hunting, cooking, preparing a teepee, and play activities. The men provided food and protection for the family, and, therefore, were responsible for weapons and hunting. The women and girls were responsible for cooking, making clothing, and setting up the teepee. (26:26 min)
This is a screencast showing the basic tools for working with an eBook from World Book. Because students are not creating accounts on the site the notebook and bookmarking features are not used.
