Chariho Middle School Library: Holes Related Research

This site describes the climate of a desert.

This article defines a desert , provides facts on deserts around the world and includes plant and animal adaptations.

This website covers all kinds of life in the desert from mammals to insects. Check out the link for ways that animals are adapted to live in the desert.

This article discuss adaptations by desert animals. (charihoms/chariho)

This video describes desert animals. (6:56 min)

This video covers plant and animal adaptations in the desert. (3:01 min)

This site has links to all kinds of plants that live in the desert. Check out the link for how plants have adapted to be able to survive in the desert.

This website could save your life. Found out how to survive in the desert.

This website defines desert conditions and survival tips.

Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number.

This article discusses the prejudice faced by gypsies.

This article discusses actions by France to remove Roma.

This site defines where gypsies came from.

This site describes difficulties faced in Ontario with Roma immigrants.

This website discusses the history of discrimination against the Roma.

Adolph Hitler hated Jewish people, and was able to gain support from other prejudiced people to discriminate against the Jews. (2:08 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site has a definition and examples of prejudice

This website has examples and describes the possible effects of prejudice.

Check out the links on the side to look for types, places, effects, dealing with prejudice and prevention.

Interesting facts with video about Texas.

This site has lots of facts about Texas that includes information on sports, tourist sites, and more.

This site has a map, history, famous people, and more.

Texas is the second largest state. Its landscape consists of high dry plains, rugged mountains, and deep river valleys.(1 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This article describes what it was like to be homeless.

This site has facts on homelessnes in the US.

Journeys with Veronika as she takes coats to homeless people throughout Detroit.(3:16min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This video has current stats and facts about homelessness in America. (9:34 min)

Statistics on homelessness in Rhode Island are available on this site.

This provides an overview of the arguments for how juveniles should be handled after having committed a crime.

This is a lengthy article exploring many aspects of juvenile justice.

This is a fact sheet about Family Court referrals in Rhode Island.

This is a fact sheet about statistics on youth at the Rhode Island Training School

This site had national statistics on juvenile justice for 2013-2014.

This site has information on major treasures that were found.

This article describes treasures that have never been located.

Check out these finds that no one was looking for.

The article offers information on the discovery of the shipwreck location of the San José, a Spanish galleon, together with the treasure inside it and mentions the maritime law regarding the ownership.

From billion dollar finds to gems from ancient times, we count down 10 Biggest Hidden Treasure Stashes Ever Found.

From gold coins to sunken treasure to ancient tombs, these are the 13 biggest treasures ever discovered.

Check out these treasures that have yet to be discovered.

Identifies bullying as an unwanted and repeating behavior that is normally about power, and goes into detail about the three main types of bullying: physical, verbal/written, and social. The segment also explains the impact of cyberbullying, and emphasizes the importance of recognizing bullying and getting help. (3:52 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Explains how to prevent bullying, and reviews the various ways to identify and stop bullying.

This site has a definition and provides examples of bullying. It also has links to statistics on bullying for the year 2013.

This site has facts about kids who bully and kids that are bullied.

This website has information about what can be done if you being bullied or seeing some else being bullied.

This article provides statistics on how bullying is declining in America.

This site defines what cyberbullying is and describes the impact it has.

This site had statistics on cyber bullying.

Cyberbullying is when someone uses the Internet, cell phones, or any other communications technologies with the intent to harm or embarrass someone by means of repeated and deliberate hostile behavior. Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate 5:40 min.

Depicts a teenager's cyberbullying story and the prevalence of cyberbullying among teenagers. (2:25 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.