Chariho Middle School Library: Early Agriculture/ Rise of Civilizations /Empires of Mesopotamia

This site has a timeline, maps, and more.

This site focuses on Catalhoyuk and art.

This site has information on Catalhoyuk and the difficulties the settlers faced. (3:45 min)

This video provides a description of the city and lifestyle of the people. (1:26 min)

This site focuses on the architecture of Catal Hoyuk.

This is a magazine article about this ancient city. Click on the PDF full text link on the left to see the article.

Explore the agricultural practices and technological devices that led to the rise of civilization in Mesopotamia. Meet the nomadic people who became farmers. And see how they established city-states, developed specialized work skills, and advanced organized religion. (20 min)

A map and video are available on this website which provides information on this civilization.

This site includes a map and other facts about this civilization.

Use the "Search Within" feature to find what you need on Sumer. Click on PDF Full Text on the right to see the full book.

This is a detailed article on the history of the Sumer civilization. Higher Reading Level

This article describes all the early inventions of the Sumer people.

This video describes Summerian inventions (6:57 min)

This site has a lot of information on the beginning of Sumner and its achievements. Higher Reading Level

This article investigates Nineveh the capital city of the Assyrian empire.

Basic facts about the Assyrian Empire can be found on this site.

This site has very detailed information. Higher Reading Level

This article discusses the burial practices of the Assyrian people.

This article discusses the growth of the Assyrian Empire.

This article discusses the history of the great Assyrian city, Nimrud.

This site has a map and video. The reading level is higher.

This site has basic facts about Uruk

This site from the Khan Academy covers all the basic facts.

Describes where Uruk is located and what life was like there.

The Phoenicians and Hebrews were developing scripts. They also built ships and settled colonies. They developed an alphabet system with thirty letters which were all consonants. The early colonists could learn to read and write and express themselves. They began to trade around 900 BC and took their alphabet with them. The Greek cities followed suit. (1:07 min) Log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Over 4000 years ago, the oceans became the roadways of the world. the Minoans and the Phoenicians became traders and sailors and explored the Mediterrean Sea. They were always restless and wondering.(2:47 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This video describes the Phoenician civilization. (3:46 min)

Click on PDF Full Text and Use the "Search Within" feature to find out information about the Phoenicians.

This article has many interesting facts about the Phoenicians.

This site has maps and lots of info. Higher Reading level

This site has information on where the Phoenician empire was located and its accomplishments.

This site has a map, information about rulers, and the decline of Akkad.

This site has information on how the empire began and King Sargon.

This site has information on the formation of the empire and its contributions.Higher Reading Level

This site reviews the history of Akkad.

Please scroll down to get to information on the Akkadian empire. Higher Reading Level

This video describes in detail how the Persian empire was different than others. (6:23 min)

This has site has a map and a biography.

This website has major facts about Cyrus the great.

This is a brief summary of how the Persian Empire started.

This encyclopedia article presents facts on Persia and its history. Higher Reading Level

Five facts you will want to know about the Persian Empire. (2:20 min)

This video describes the Persian Empire's development.(10:22 min)

This video discusses the development of the Persian Empire. (13:53 min)

This video discusses the importance of location in the rise of civilizations. (3:18 min)

This video describes the basics of civilization. (4:44 min)

This site defines what a civilization is.

Please scroll down to find a definition and characteristics of a civilization.

This site summarizes the major characteristics of a civilization.

These are the eight major characteristics of a civilization.

Around 3500 BC an advanced civilization known as Mesopotamia existed along the Tigres and Euphrates Rivers--today it is Iraq. The valleys were fertile; the city/state had massive fortifications, and they had developed a writing system, known as Cuneiform. This civiliation had law codes and literature with themes that are still used today. (1:18 min) remember to login with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This article defines a civilization and gives a description of Sumner and Babylon.

This site has information on the rise of the Babylonian emperor and its eventual fall. Higher Reading Level

This information has a lot of information on Babylonia including law codes and scribes. Higher Reading Level

Analyzes an ancient Babylonian low-relief sculpture called "Lion Relief from the Processional Way," and exhibits a model of the Ishtar Gate. The program also outlines the process of sculpting on clay bricks that was used to make "Lion Relief from the Processional Way." (2:03 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birth date

This video discuss the impact left on the world by the Babylonian culture.(3:17 min)

This site has lots of facts about Babylon.

This encyclopedia article has all the basic facts.

This article reviews Hammurabi's Code.

This site has facts, maps, and a video.

Use the "Search within" feature to find where Babylon is mentioned in this book.

This site describes the uncertainty around the existence of the gardens.