Chariho Middle School Library: Biographies

Short article about Sotomayor.

When President Barack Obama nominated Sonia Sotomayor to the Supreme Court of the United States, the country celebrated. Not only would the Supreme Court welcome its third woman justice but also its first Hispanic member. Many Americans saw the appointment of the first Hispanic justice as an important step in the civil rights movement.

Short interview with Sotomayor

Biography about Sotomayor's life and work.

Biography and video (bottom of page) about Sotomayor's life.

This book recounts the story of Sonia Sotomayor, the third female and first Hispanic associate justice of the United States Supreme Court, and her journey from a housing project to the Ivy League and then through all three levels of the federal court system. It covers her contributions to various communities to help ensure that all have equal opportunities for success.

A biography of the life of Sonia Sotomayor, the first Hispanic woman to become one of the nine judges serving on the U.S. Supreme Court.

Listens to host Tierra Peters describe the life and achievements of George Washington Carver, and emphasizes the role he played in saving Southern agriculture from disaster. The program discusses the passion Carver had for education, and highlights his role as head of the agricultural department at Tuskegee Institute.

Truly a renaissance man, George Washington Carver was a botanist, farmer, scientist, educator, and inventor.

Introduces George Washington Carver and considers his contributions to agricultural science.

Biography about George Washington Carver.

Short article about the George Washington Carver Monument

Biography about George Washington Carver

The life and career of the famous African American scientist.

George Washington Carver was born a slave, but he became an important scientist and teacher. He experimented with soil and became famous for his work as a botanist. He used peanuts and other plants to make new products. Before Carvers research, plants were only used for food and clothing. His creative approach to agriculture taught people that plants could be used to make many products, like rubber, ink, fuel, and paper, to name a few.

Tours William Shakespeare's childhood home in Stratford-upon-Avon, and describes what life was like for young Shakespeare. The segment also discusses Shakespeare's marriage to Anne Hathaway.

The year 2016 marks the 400th anniversary of William Shakespeare's death. Why do people around the globe still study and perform his plays hundreds of years later? What is it that makes Shakespeare's writing timeless? This entertaining title explores the life, work, and legacy of the Bard of Avon.

Learn all about William Shakespeare, the world-famous playwright and poet from National Geographic Kids.

The life of William Shakespeare.

In depth article on Shakespeare's life, work, and world.

Watch the first few minutes to learn more about Shakespeare's life. Watch further to dig deeper into his work.

Short video about Frank's life and work from the Anne Frank House museum. Check out the site for further information.

A journal is a collection of thoughts and experiences. This part presents a video about Anne Frank to show that her journal can teach us about the time period in which she lived.(5:47 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Developed in cooperation with the Anne Frank Center in Amsterdam, Anne Frank's story encourages students to examine their own attitudes about human rights, prejudice, morality, and justice.(42:34 min) Look at the video clips from the movie to pinpoint information you may need if you don't want to watch the entire video. Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your bithdate.

Anne Frank's diary has become one of the most widely read books in the world. Readers will learn about Anne as she went into hiding from the Nazi Party in this nonfiction title. Through vibrant images, informational text, timelines, and a glossary of terms, readers will discover the hardships Anne and her family went through in order to avoid being sent to a concentration camp. Reading Level 4.8

A brief biography from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

The haunting account of the young Anne Frank and her tragically short life as a hidden Jewish fugitive during the Holocaust continues to deeply move and inspire readers, decades after she wrote what became The Diary of a Young Girl.

Readers will learn about the early years of Michelle Obama, her impressive careers, and her years in the White House as the First Lady of the United States.

This book introduces young readers to the life of Michelle Obama, beginning with her childhood in Chicago, Illinois. Readers will become familiar with her strong, intelligent personality as they learn about her years at Princeton University and Harvard Law School, her career as a lawyer and later a community service worker, her marriage to Barack Obama, and her life as a mother to her daughters Malia and Sasha.

Profiles the life of First Lady Michelle Obama.

Short biography about Michelle Obama.

Biography of former First Lady Michelle Obama from the White House site.

Explore the timeline from the Julia Child Foundation to learn about her life, career, and accomplishments.

Provides an in-depth look into Julia Child's preserved kitchen at the Smithsonian. The program also explains Child's culinary and cultural significance.

Short biography about Julia Child.

Short article about Julia Child.

Biography of Child with some of her recipes and videos of her show.

Read a short biography of Child and look through some of her recipes.

Biography about Child from the National Women's History Museum.

Biography about Phelps's life and career.

Biography of Phelps's life and career up to 2013.

Short article about Phelps.

In depth article on Phelps's life and career.

Focus on Phelps's career.

Analyzes the physical and mental attributes that make swimmer Michael Phelps the most decorated Olympian of all time.

Primary source-Arnold Palmer wins the Los Angeles Open.

Short article about Palmer's life.

Biography about Palmer's life and career.

An interview with Palmer, looking back on his life and career.

Biography of Palmer from the World Golf Hall of Fame.

This is an encyclopedia article on Misty.

This site includes biographical information

This site features an interview with Misty by PBS.

This is a brief overview of Misty's life.

This is an encyclopedia article. (charihoms/chariho)

The article offers information on ballet dancer Misty Copeland. It presents the views of gymnast Gabby Douglas referring Copeland as a role model.

This is Misty talking about her life and inspirations. (3:26 min)

This is an encyclopedia article.

This page highlights Nye's career.

A brief biography of Bill Nye is providedl

Features Bill Nye, creator, headwriter and host of the television show `Disney Presents Bill Nye, the Science Guy.

The article presents an interview with U.S. scientist, author, and television personality Bill Nye.

This site offers a biography of Curie.

This page has some information about her life.

This site has a detailed biography.

This article offers an overview of her life.

ighlights the conflicts and accomplishments in the life of Marie Curie, from Poland to France, and discusses her research on steel, uranium, polonium, radium, radiation, and radioactivity. The program also demonstrates why Marie Curie won two Nobel Prizes, and interviews a registered veterinary technician about modern x-ray techniques and technology. (15:58 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Features include a timeline, a glossary, essential facts, references, websites, source notes, and an index.

Check out this site to find the major influences Kennedy had on civil rights, the environment, the arts and more.

This site offers a brief video about Kennedy's life.

This site provides a detailed biography of JFK.

This is a video of a brief biography of JFK. (3:42 min)

ohn F. Kennedy wins the 1960 presidential election to become the first Catholic President of the United States. (3:07 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

The Bay of Pigs Invasion, which involved CIA-trained Cubans landing on Cuba, failed and embarrassed the Kennedy Administration and its United Nations Ambassador, Adlai Stevenson. Soviet Cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin was the first human to orbit the Earth. Kennedy and Khrushchev met in Vienna to discuss the divided city of Berlin. On the way, Kennedy stopped to meet with de Gaulle in Paris, where Jackie Kennedy charmed the French. East German troops constructed a wall across Berlin. Kennedy visited Berlin and declared “Ich bin ein Berliner.” The discovery of Soviet nuclear missile sites being constructed in Cuba led to the Cuban Missile Crisis, in which the Soviets backed down. The United States and Soviet Union later signed a nuclear test ban treaty. ( 6: 31 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

President Kennedy was loved for his charm, humor, and devotion to his family, including children John and Caroline. Following Kennedy’s assassination in Dallas in 1963, former Vice President Lyndon Johnson pushed the civil rights bill into law. The law proved hard to enforce as integration brought protests and violence. (4.14 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Readers will gather basic, biographical information about Kennedy through easy-to-read, simple text. They'll also love the historical photographs, ) Lower Reading Level

This biography covers key events in his presidency such as the Vietnam War, Cuban Missile Crisis, civil rights, and his assassination.

The article focuses on the term of John F. Kennedy as the 35th president of the U.S., citing important policies and significant events during his administration.

The article offers information on the assassination of former U.S. President John F. Kennedy in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963.

This site provides a short biography.

This site provides a detailed account of Ford's impact.

This site offers a detailed biography that includes information about his childhood.

This site focuses on Ford's accomplishments and impact.

In 1908 Henry Ford introduced his economical automobile, the Model T. This, along with his invention of the assembly line, changed how Americans lived and worked. (3:02 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is a biography of Henry Ford.

This article discusses Ford's accomplishments.

The article discusses the life and works of Henry Ford, founder of American car company Ford Motor Co.

This article is an overview of his life.

This is an encyclopedia article on Bell.

Explore the life, accomplishments, and legacy of Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone. (5:40 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is a graphic novel biography of Bell.

This site offers a brief biography.

This site focuses on the contributions made by Ali.

This site offers a brief biography.

This is a play with facts about Ali.

Profiles the enduring legacy of heavyweight boxing champion Muhammad Ali. The program discusses the ways in which Ali inspired others through social activism and his strong political voice. (6:05 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Ali became known not just for the speed and agility with which he won three world heavyweight championships, but also for his charm, wit, and showmanship. Outside the ring, the courage of his stand against the military draft made him both a revered cultural hero and a lightning rod for the issues that divided Americans during the Vietnam War.

This site discusses how In 2011, Ruby Bridges met with President Obama at the White House. He told her how her actions as a six-year-old child helped make it possible for an African American to become president.

Ruby Bridges was the first African American child to enroll at an all-white school in New Orleans, Louisiana.

An interview with Ruby Bridges, the first child to integrate a public school in the American South, is presented. Topics include her experiences growing up in the South during the 1950s and 1960s..

Ruby Bridges Hall recounts her experience as the first African American child to desegregate an elementary school in New Orleans, Louisiana in 1960. Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is an encyclopedia article on Mia.

This is an encyclopedia article on Mia Hamm.

This article is a brief biography.

This is a brief biography. (charihoms/chariho)

This is a brief biography.

Use the index to find information on Mia Hamm.

This site contains a brief biography of Roosevelt.

This site contains a lot of information follow the links on the bottom left to find more information.

This article offers a brief biography.

An excerpt from the State of the Union address by the former U.S. president Franklin D. Roosevelt on January 6, 1941 is presented which focuses on the statues representing the Four Freedoms.

President Franklin D. Roosevelt overcomes physical adversity, bringing his optimistic outlook to a Depression-era America for an unprecedented four terms.Remember to login with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Uncovers the truth about President Roosevelt's illness, revealing that polio may not have been the culprit to his paralysis. (6:09 min) Remember to login with cms in front of your student id number.

Readers will gather basic, biographical information about Roosevelt through easy-to-read, simple text. They'll also love the historical photographs, the More Facts section, and bolded glossary terms. Lower Reading Level

A biography of the only man to be elected President of the United States four times.

This site has information about Michael Jordan's childhood.

This site has and encyclopedia article on Michael Jordan.

This is a brief biography on Michael Jordan.

This title compares classic star Michael Jordan and contemporary champion LeBron James. From scoring and rebounding to defense and leadership.

Focuses on the early career of basketball player Michael Jordan as discussed in the book `Airborne.

The article profiles Michael Jordan, a professional basketball player.

Profiles Michael Jordan, the retired National basketball Association player. Career background; Performances and achievements.

This site offers a brief biography.

This site offers facts about her crime.

This article is a brief biography.

Describes what life was like for Rosa growing up in the South during the time of segregation. (2:03 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

The program discusses Parks’ early education and work experience. (5:05 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Text and photographs introduce the biography of Rosa Parks, the African American woman from Alabama whose refusal to give up her seat on a bus to a white man helped establish the civil rights movement.

A detailed biography is available on this site.

This is a brief biography of Walt Disney. (4:15 min)

Readers will learn about Disney's childhood, education, and career as a groundbreaking animator and entrepreneur.

This beginner biography takes a look into the life of Walt Disney and his innovative contributions to film and animation. Lower Reading Level

Presents a biography on American cartoonist and animator Walt Disney. Higher Reading Level

This article is about Walt Disney's accomplishments.

The article discusses the achievements of animation pioneer, Walt Disney.

This page focuses on George Lucas' career.

This site focuses on George Lucas' career.

This site offers a few facts about Lucas' childhood.

This brief biography provides information about George Lucas' childhood.

This is a brief biography of George Lucas. (4:50 min) Double check the facts as it is not clear what the poster's expertise is.

Presents information on the use of digital cameras to shoot the motion picture "Star Wars, Episode II: Attack of the Clones," by its director George Lucas.

This is a brief biography of George Lucas.

An interview with filmmaker George Lucas is presented.

This site offers a biography of Jones.

This is an encyclopedia article.

This article offers an overview of his life.

This site contains many facts about his life.

John Paul Jones was a very experience sailor who was the captain of The Ranger. He was the first ship to sail with the Stars and Stripes as his colors. He sailed to France to have them recognize America as an independent country from Britain. Because of his fighting and cammanding efforts at sea, the U.S. navy was formed and is shaped into what it is today.(3:09 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site has a biography of Bill Gates.

This site has a biography as well as a video of Bill Gates.

This is an encyclopedia article.

This is an encyclopedia article on Bill Gates.

An interview with philanthropists Bill Gates and Melinda Gates is presented. They discuss the accomplishments of their charity the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

In 1993, Bill Gates was close to his dream of having a Windows-PC computer on every desk in America. Although Gates was not known for his people skills, the brilliant software designer and his team of business advisors had a near monopoly on the computer market.(6:05 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number.

Learn who Bill Gates is, how Microsoft got its start, where it's heading, and much more. Primary sources with accompanying questions, multiple prompts, timeline, index, and glossary also included.

This page offers a biography of Hamilton.

This site has a detailed biography.

This article is a brief overview of his life. (charihoms/chariho)

This is an encyclopedia article. (charihoms/chariho)

Alexander Hamilton built our nation economy's rules and regulations on how to protect and regulate America's money. He helped create the Bank of America and regulate the import of foreign goods by helping Congress create a tariff on all imported goods so that the United States would not be dependent on foreign nations. (2:52 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is a biography of Hamilton.

This site offers a biography.

This is an overview of their life.

Describes the development of powered human flight by Wilbur and Orville Wright.

The article focuses on Wright brothers, Orville Wright and Wilbur Wright who invented the airplane in 1903 and mentions their interest in flying machine since childhood.

Follows the Wright brothers, from their patenting of their inventions to their international stardom and acclaim, and summarizes the overall legacy of the Wright brothers.(4:19 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

See how the Wright brothers shaped the world, impacted humanity, and changed the course of history.

The Wright Brothers are famous for their role in the history of flight! Kids can read this book to find out more about the Wright Brothers and how they flew the first airplane.

This site offers an inspirational video and facts about Jane's life.

This site offers a detailed biography.

This interview covers some of Jane's life and accomplishments.

This is a brief biography of Jane Goodall. (3:21 min)

Jane Goodall had a passion to learn about animals. Readers will learn all about her adventurous life among chimpanzees and other primates in this inspiring, Lower Reading Level

This inspiring biography will have readers engaged and delighted as they learn about Goodall's life as a primatologist amongst the chimps. Lower Reading Level

Profiles Jane Goodall, founder of the Jane Goodall Institute in San Francisco, California.

The article presents a profile of British ethnologist and anthropologist Jane Goodall, including her work to understand and protect chimpanzees.

The article focuses on a research done by Jane Goodall, a primatologist, on comparative study of the behavior and emotions of chimpanzees and human beings in which she established facts such as that chimpanzees ate meat as well as fruits and insects, and chimpanzees used tools to prey on animals.

Encyclopedia entry about Nikola Tesla.

This article focuses on biographical information about Tesla as well as the alternating current system he developed.

While studying at Joanneum Polytechnic School in Austria, Nikola Tesla suggests that he can design a motor that runs on alternating current. His suggestion draws criticism from his physics professor.

Rob and Stefan visit Nikola Tesla's lab in Long Island, New York. It is rumored that Tesla researched breakthrough technology in an underground facility beneath the lab.

A biographical entry about Tesla.

Read about Tesla's inventions and see an actual patent from Tesla!

Dive deep into Tesla's life, then click on "Inside the Lab" to see more about Tesla's inventions.

11 things you didn't know about Nikola Tesla from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Article with biographical information about Gretzky.

Wayne Gretzky is a Canadian ice hockey player, nicknamed “The Great Gretzky” or “The Great One,” the most prolific scorer in the history of the National Hockey League (NHL).

This biography includes some great pictures of Gretzky as well.

Leonardo da Vinci lived during the Italian Renaissance, a time of great ideas and innovation. This enlightening biography allows readers to discover how Da Vinci perfectly embodied the spirit of the Renaissance.

See how Leonardo da Vinci shaped the world, impacted humanity, and changed the course of history.

Biographical information about Leonardo da Vinci.

Watch this video from Discovery Education to learn more about da Vinci's life!

Watch this video from Discovery Education to learn more about the achievements of da Vinci.

Check out this webpage to dive deeper into da Vinci's inventions.

Learn about da Vinci as an artist, an inventor, and a scientist.

This biography examines the life of Amelia Earhart. The book includes a family tree.

Biographical information about Earhart from the Women's History Museum.

Biographical information about Earhart.

Learn more in depth information about Earhart's solo flight.

Learn more about Earhart's early years.

Investigates Amelia Earhart's flying career and communicates her status as a major celebrity of the 1930s.

Explores the aviation career of Amelia Earhart. The program discusses Earhart’s early life, her interest in flying, her impact as the first woman aviator to break multiple records, and her attempt to circumnavigate the globe.

Biographical information about Tallchief.

Biographical information about Tallchief.

Biographical information about Tallchief.

Biographical information about Tallchief.

Biographical information about Owens.

Biographical information about Owens.

Relates the story of the Olympic champ who had a huge impact on how African Americans were seen.

The 1936 Olympics were in Berlin. Berlin is in Germany. Many bad things were happening in Germany. Adolf Hitler was in power. Many people were angry. They didn't like Hitler. They didn't like the way he treated Jews. But Jesse wanted to go to the Games. He trained every day. He wanted to win.

The story of Owen's life, told by the New York Times.

Gandhi took up the struggle against British rule. His belief in peaceful protest was exemplified by the Salt Protest of 1930, which forced the British governor to change the oppressive Salt Law and consider more seriously the issue of Indian independence.

Biographical information about Gandhi.

Connecting Gandhi's ideas and his life's work to contemporary issues this useful resource for parents and teachers makes Gandhi relevant for kids today. Packed with historic images, the book includes informative sidebars; a time line, glossary, and resource section, along with 21 activities that illuminate Gandhi's life, environment, and ideas.

A biography on Mahatma Gandhi, one of the most respected spiritual and political leaders of the 1900's.

Biographical information about Lee.

Biography of the cartoonist who originated such famous cartoon superheroes as Thd Fantastic Four, The Incredible Hulk and Spider-Man.

This book describes the life and writing career of Stan Lee, who became editor-in-chief and eventually publisher of Marvel Comics and who enjoyed creating superheroes for the Marvel Universe.

An article from Dogo News looking back at Lee' life after his passing in 2018.

Press release from Disney in remembrance of Lee after his passing in 2018.

A video in which Lee talks about the science behind his comic book heroes.

German dictator, chancellor (1933-1945), founder and leader (führer) of German fascism.

Examines the life of Adolf Hitler, discussing his childhood, attempts to become an artist, family, anti-Semitic views, World War I service, oratory skills, rise to power, rule, downfall, and other related topics.

Biography of Hitler from World Book.

Brief biography of Hitler.

This program follows the events, people, and places who shaped and impacted President Obama’s life from a young child in Hawaii to the presidency of the United States.

President Barack Obama made history not just by winning by a landslide of votes for his campaign for Change, but by being the first black president to be elected to office.

Explores the life and career of Barack Obama and traces his political accomplishments that culminated with his election as the forty-fourth president of the United States.

Short video looking back at Obama's two terms as president.

Short biography with links to additional information about Obama's presidency.

Without Steve Irwin's family, there would be no Australia Zoo. Find out about the life of this man who grew up taking care of wildlife. Read about the wildlife park that his parents started and that Irwin and his wife continued and expanded. This web site from the Australia Zoo also has information about Irwin's wife and children. Find out about his wife's interest in wildlife conservation and see how his daughter, Bindi, is carrying on Irwin's work.

In 1970, Steve Irwin's parents opened a reptile and fauna park in Queensland, Australia. This biography about Irwin tells about his love of animals at an early age. Find out how old he was when he began wrestling crocodiles and read about crocodile management and capture techniques he developed. Learn when and how Steve met his wife and find out how they spent their honeymoon. This web site has photographs and introduces Irwin's family members.

Crikey! Check out this website to learn about the famous Australian crocodile hunter, Steve Irwin. Steve's love for animals started at a young age. He was raised by parents who rescued and rehabilitated animals in Queensland, Australia. After his untimely death in 2006, Steve's daughter Bindi Sue is following in her father's footsteps by starting her own television series, Bindi: The Jungle Girl. Steve Irwin had several notable films and television appearances.

Short biography of Irwin.

Timeline of Pasteurs life and works.

Article from PBS NewsHour.

Short biography on Pasteur.

Learn about Louis Pasteur in this program. With conviction, this great French scientist discovered the cure for deadly diseases after the deaths of his beloved daughters.

Biography of scientist Louis Pasteur.

Short biography of Coretta Scott King.

Short article about the book award named for Coretta Scott King

Biography about Coretta Scott King

Biography about Coretta Scott King

An introduction to the life and career of the First Lady of the U.S. civil rights movement.

Short biography about Ride.

Biography about Ride.

Known for being the first American woman in space, Sally Ride dedicated her life to inspiring young people to engage in science, technology, and math through the thrill of space travel. The program looks at Sally Ride's life and ground-breaking work within the NASA space program as well as her passion for science education. The presentation wraps up with a discussion on her legacy.

Short biography about Sally Ride.

Biography about Sally Ride.

Commemorates the day Sally Ride became the first American woman in space.

Biography about Sally Ride

Meet Sally Ride, the first American woman in space! Follow Ride's story as she develops a robotic arm for space shuttles, investigates the Challenger and Columbia disasters, and founds Sally Ride Science. Infographics, historic photos, and a glossary enhance readers' understanding of this topic. Additional features include a table of contents, an index, a timeline and fun facts

Biography about Nightingale from the National Women's History Museum.

Short biography about Nightingale.

The life of Florence Nightingale from National Geographic Kids.

Tells the life story of nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century nurse and philanthropist Florence Nightingale, describing her experiences in the Crimean War and her impact on nursing, hospitals, and medicine.

Short article on the life of Florence Nightingale.

Short article about Nightingale with pictures.

Recounts the heroic actions of U.S. soldier Audie Murphy during World War II. After the war, Murphy became a major film star.

Short biography about Murphy's life.

Article on the highly decorated World War II hero who would become a film star.

An account of Audie's life from the Arlington National Cemetery website.

From Murphy’s exposed position on top of the burning tank destroyer, he killed over 20 German soldiers and repelled their attack 75 years ago. Profile from the National World War II Museum.

Biography of Murphy from the Association of the United States Army.

Offers an introduction to the virtual field trip, a celebration of the ninetieth birthday of Queen Elizabeth II. The segment also offers a look into the history of the Queen's life and her top achievements.

Readers will learn about the queen's early years, how her father surprisingly became king, and why she had to take the crown at the young age of 25.

Biography about Queen Elizabeth II.

Short biographical article about Queen Elizabeth II.

Learn more about the Queen from the official website of the British Royal Family. Use the menu on the side to learn more about her childhood, coronation, and interests.

Short biography about Beyonce's life.

Biography about Knowles life and work.

In depth biography about Beyonce's life.

Short article about Flatley's life.

Biography of Flatley.

The career of Michael Flatley from his personal website.

Watch Flatley dance in Riverdance.

Short biography about Bergh.

Read the first page of this PDF to learn more about Henry Bergh.

Learn about Bergh's founding of the ASPCA and how it has evolved over the years.

An in depth biography of Bergh's life and legacy.

A biography of Bergh from the Dictionary of Unitarian and Universalist Biography page.

This is a brief biography.

A brief biography is on this site.

This is an encyclopedia article..

This is an overview of his life.

This is a brief biography of Hawking. (4:22 min)

This is a biography of Stephen Hawking.

Stephen Hawking is among one of the most inspiring persons of our time. His work in the general theory of relativity and quantum mechanics has been significant. This title includes primary sources, sidebars, prompts and activities, charts and graphs, and much more.

This site offers a short biography.

This site offers a biography of Neil Armstrong.

This site features a video of Neil Armstrong's life.

This is a brief biography.

The article profiles astronaut Neil Armstrong on the occasion of his death in August 2012. Lexile 1080

he article presents obituaries for U.S. astronauts Neil Armstrong and Sally Ride. Lexile 1190

This is a biography of Neil Armstrong.

This site offers a biography of Reagan.

This site offers very detailed information. Click on the links near the bottom.

This is an encyclopedia article.

Describes the presidency of Ronald Reagan. Biographical information; Cabinet members; Reagan's view of the office of president; Major issues of the day such as Star Wars and the Iran-Contra.

This article is an overview of his life.

This video segment provides a comprehensive overview of the Reagan Presidency. It discusses Reagan's policies regarding federal government, the budget, tax cuts, military spending, and nuclear competition with the Soviet Union. (3:53 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This biography examines the remarkable life of Ronald Reagan using easy-to-read, compelling text.

This site offers a biography.

This site offers a biography.

The book 'Albert Einstein' presents the life and works of the German scientist Albert Einstein.

This brief article gives an overview of his life.

This is an encyclopedia article.

Albert Einstein rocked the foundations of science with revolutionary concepts of time, space, mass, motion, and gravitation. Three new branches of physics were fostered by Einstein’s theories, and his famous formula E=mc2 was the foundation of our modern nuclear age. (5:32 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This title includes primary sources, sidebars, prompts and activities, charts and graphs, and much more.

This is an encyclopedia article on Walter Camp.

This is a brief biography on Camp.

This is an encyclopedia article.

This is a brief biography on Camp.

This article examines Camp's contributions to football.

This site focuses on Camp's impact on football.

This site had a lot of information. Follow the links to find more on other pages.

This site provides brief facts and highlights his legacy.

This article is an overview of his life.

This article provides many facts about his career.

This is an encyclopedia article.

Thomas Jefferson voiced the American ideals of democracy and freedom in the Declaration of Independence. As president, he doubled the country's size, an act that displaced many Native Americans. (3:37 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Examines the childhood, political career, and other activities of Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States.

In graphic novel format, describes the life and work of Thomas Jefferson.

Facts about the life and death of John Lennon are on this page.

This Rock and Roll Hall of Fame site has this site on John Lennon.

This is a slide show about Lennon's life and beliefs.

John Lennon and Paul McCartney were born in Liverpool, England.

This is an encyclopedia article.

February 23, 1964: At London airport, hundreds of British girls greeted the Beatles return to Britain from their successful American tour. This was the beginning of Beatlemania, and the group was on its way to becoming a part of history. (3:04 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Presents the life of John Lennon, from his early years through the rise and breakup of the Beatles to his final days in New York.

This is a biography of Gehrig.

This article gives the highlights of his life.

This is an encyclopedia article.

Yankees baseball player Lou Gehrig is honored when his career is cut short by a form of infantile paralysis. (38 sec) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

How did Lou Gehrig become one of baseball's greatest players? What Major League Baseball team did he play for? Why did Lou have to stop playing baseball? Read this book to discover the answers!

Follow Lou's outstanding career from the playgrounds of New York City to the fields of Yankee stadium. Don't miss this incredible story of one of history's greatest baseball players.

This site offers a detailed biography.

This site offers a brief biography.

This website offers a biography.

This is a brief biography of Hellen Keller.(3:55 min)

In this inspiring biography, readers will learn about the incredible journey of Helen Keller.

Presents a biography of activist and writer Helen Keller. (charihoms/chariho)

The article focuses on sign language developed by author Helen Keller and her teacher Anne Sullivan using manual alphabet and sensation of touch on hands to spell letters and words.

Profiles Helen Keller, a handicapped person who became one of the founding members of the Massachusetts Commission for the Blind.

This site discusses Castro's accomplishments and death.

This is a very detailed biography of Castro.

This site offers a biography of Castro.

This is a summary of the major points of Castro's life.

This is a brief article on Fidel Casto's death.

An introduction to the life and career of Cuban President Fidel Castro.

Fidel Castro, leads a revolt in Cuba to overthrow the Batista run government and wins. (2:15 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Cubans and Cuban Americans react to the death of Fidel Castro. (1:22 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is an encyclopedia article.

This site has a nice section on his "Legacy" if you want information on his accomplishments.

This site has info about his life as young man.

This article offers a brief biography.

Highlights the life, legacy, and influence of George Washington, and focuses on his military and political careers. The program emphasizes Washington's accomplishments as the Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Army and the President of the United States. (5:53 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This revealing title examines the life of George Washington,'father of his country,'with a focus on his military leadership during the Revolutionary War and his role and legacy as first President of the United States.

his title will introduce little readers to the 1st president of the United States, George Washington. Readers will gather basic, biographical information about Washington through easy-to-read, simple text. Lower Reading Level

This site provides some background on how Babe got his nickname.

Offers a look at ball games, concerts and other live performances that marked a new phase in the arts or new heights of athletic achievement between 1924 and 2001. (charihoms/chariho)

Reports on the home-run feats of the New York Yankee baseball player Babe Ruth. Ruth's popularity; Ruth's swinging style; Batting records set by Ruth; Ruth's exploits in baseball.

Ruth retires after 20 years of playing baseball. (.14 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

In graphic novel format, follows Babe Ruth through the 1927 season and describes his attempt to break his own home run record.

This site has many resources on Jackie Robinson.

This site has biographical information and discusses Jackie's contributions to baseball.

In 1947, Jackie Robinson became the first African American to play in the Major Leagues, thus breaking the "color barrier" that had always existed in Major League Baseball. (6:33 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

One major league baseball owner set out to challenge segregation, and in 1947 Jackie Robinson became the first African-American since the 19th century to play for a major league team. (2:09 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

At a time when much of the United States was still racially segregated, Jackie Robinson smashed the color barrier to become the first African-American player in Major League Baseball.

Life and history of baseball player, Jackie Robinson.) Lower Reading Level

This is a brief article on the highlights of his life.

Profiles Jackie Robinson, the first black man to play modern-day major league baseball.

Brief biography on Jackie Robinson. (4:03 min)

What does it take to become the youngest recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize? Ask Malala Yousafzai! In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby introduce you to the extraordinary young woman who's been standing up for educational rights since she was a child.

Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi are announced as the Nobel Peace Prize winners of 2014. (2:32 min) Remember to log in with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

The article presents a profile of Pakistani school student and activist Malala Yousafzai who was a runner-up for "Time" Magazine's Person of the Year award in 2012.

Activist. Malala Yousafzai has been an advocate for education and schools for girls around the world.

Malala Yousafzai : defender of education for girls from Remarkable Lives Revealed.

Get to know the life and legacy of Malala Yousafzai. Vivid photographs and easy-to-read text give early readers an engaging and age-appropriate look at her incredible effort to support girls' education. Features include sidebars, a table of contents, two infographics, Making Connections questions, a glossary, and an index.

Short biography about Malala Yousafzai

In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby introduce you to the inspiring life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.! You’ll learn what the civil rights movement was, what was different about the United States in the first part of the 20th century, and what segregation had to do with it. You’ll learn about King’s family background and how he helped begin the Montgomery bus boycott. You’ll also discover who inspired King, and how his non-violent protests lead to Supreme Court decisions banning segregation. Plus, you’ll find out some of the dangers King faced in his fight to end segregation — and how he met an untimely death. Need a hero? You couldn’t find a better one. (sign in with Google)

This video presents a biography of Dr. Martin Luther King. (6:04min)

Article about Dr. King's life and accomplishments.

This site has many photos and facts about Dr. King.

This is an encyclopedia article. (charihoms/chariho)

The montgomery bus boycott was the first large scale protest for African Americans. Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. led the protest and used a passive resistance model to achieve equality and desegregation on buses. (2:42 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

The familiar story of this American hero is told for children. From Dr. King's birth to the end of his short life, the values that he stood for so powerfully and the changes that he helped to bring about are presented here in terms that children can understand and personally relate to. (charihoms/chariho) Lower Reading Level

Features civil rights leader and minister Martin Luther King Jr. His stance on racism; Consequences of his activism; His accomplishments.

Ebook about Dr. King's life and accomplishments, with detailed information.

See what products Steve Jobs is best known for.

This site will provide information on his contributions. It includes a video.

This is an article on Steve Jobs.

This is an encyclopedia article.

This offers a short biography of Steve Jobs.

On October 5, 2011, Steve Jobs passed away due to complications from pancreatic cancer. This segment describes how his visionary brand changed the way we interact with technology, and how he inspired others to think outside of the box.(3:35 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id and your birthdate.

Describes Steve Jobs as a brash leader with a vision to create simple and beautiful consumer electronics. The segment also details the early events in Jobs' life that cultivated his interest in computer technology.(3:19 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number.

Engaging photos and easy-to-read text take readers into the story of Steve Jobs, who helped found Apple Computer Inc. Lower Reading Level (charihoms/chariho)

This compelling biography describes his life and career as a visionary entrepreneur who helped usher the world into the digital age—in style and comfort.

This site offers a biography.

This article is a brief biography.

Examines the career of Pele, named by `Time' magazine as a hero of the twentieth century.

June 29, 1958: During the World Cup Finals Edson Pele, a 17-year-old from Sao Paulo, Brazil, performed like a veteran and won his team the championship. He went on to be admired all around the world.(2:36 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site offers a detailed biography of the Lincoln.

This site offers a lot of facts about Lincoln.

Provides an overview of the life and legacy of President Abraham Lincoln, from his humble beginnings in Kentucky and Illinois to his preservation of the Union and the abolishment of slavery, and gives context for the secession of the Southern states and the American Civil War. The program also discusses the Emancipation Proclamation and 13th Amendment, and includes some of Abraham Lincoln's most-iconic quotes. (5:53 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate as your password.

This video presents a biography of Abraham Lincoln. (4:08 min)

Simple text and full-color photographs describe the life of Abraham Lincoln. Lower Reading Level

This biography examines the life of Abraham Lincoln. The book includes biographies of other historical people and a family tree.

This article has highlights of Lincoln's life.

The article recounts the murder of then U.S. president Abraham Lincoln and presents a part of the poem "O Captain! My Captain!" by Walt Whitman after Lincoln was killed.

This site provides biographical information on Winston Churchill.

This site has an interactive exhibit on Winston Churchill that includes a timeline.

Winston Churchill is one of the best-known world statesmen, famous for guiding Britain through the Second World War with his courage, determination and stirring speeches. Find out about his early life, his family and his rise to become Britain's great wartime leader. (6:26 min)

Churchill knew that Hitler would attack Britain once France fell. Britain was not equipped to fight but Churchill motivated the British people to persevere. He made overtures, also, towards the United States. (2:50 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is a biography of Winston Churchill.

Winston Churchill was a famous British politician. He was prime minister of the United Kingdom (UK) during World War II.

This offers a brief biography of Winston Churchill.

Ebsco ebook

Short encyclopedia entry about Frida Kahlo's life.

An image of Frida and her husband Diego Rivera.

Artwork by Frida Kahlo: Self-Portrait at the Border Between Mexico and the United States

A short article containing biographical information.

Brief biography of Elizabeth Blackwell.

Biography of Elizabeth Blackwell from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

A closer look at Blackwell's experience in becoming a doctor, with direct quotes from Blackwell.

The article focuses on the life and career of American doctor Elizabeth Blackwell. Topics include her struggles of entering a medical schools and training hospitals considering the notion that medical professions are for men during her time, her contribution in advancing the course of women physicians after she achieved gaining the support of Quaker women back in New York, and the success of the hospital she and other women worked together to provide efficient and quality medical services.

Biography about Blackwell

Learn about the life of Elizabeth Blackwell (1821-1910), the first woman to receive a medical degree in the United States and a pioneering force in medical education for women.

Short biographical account of Blackwell's life.

Learn all about three extraordinary women who broke down barriers for other women entering the medical field.

Many people know that Benjamin Franklin discovered electricity. In this captivating biography, readers learn the role he played in colonial America.

See how Benjamin Franklin impacted humanity, shaped the world, and changed the course of history.

Amazing Ben Franklin Inventions gives young readers a comprehensive look at the man who gave us the lightning rod, the armonica, bifocals, the post office, the first public library, Poor Richard's Almanac, and so much more. Amazing Ben Franklin Inventions provides detailed step-by-step instructions, diagrams, and templates for creating each project.

Biographical information about Ben Franklin.

Explores the life of Benjamin Franklin. The program discusses the highlights of Franklin’s life as a writer, printer, scientist, inventor, and Founding Father. It provides details about his role in the Revolutionary War, the creation of the Constitution, and the founding of the United States.

Take a look at all the roles Franklin played during his lifetime. Then, dive deeper into Franklin's life by exploring other parts of this site!

American inventor and businessman Thomas Edison influenced the world. His most notable achievements, the motion picture camera and the light bulb, are used millions of times each day. This title includes primary sources, sidebars, prompts and activities, charts and graphs, and much more.

Chronicles the life of Thomas Edison and explains how he helped shape the world, impacted humanity, and changed the course of history.

Thomas Edison did not invent the light bulb, but he did find a way to sustain the light that it produced. These light bulbs were just one of Edison’s many inventions.

Thomas Edison created many important inventions that improved daily life.

Biographical information from Rutgers University.

Biographical information from the Edison Innovation Foundation.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg became the second woman appointed on the Supreme Court. She used this power to fight for women's rights.

Biographical information about Ginsburg.

Profiles the life and work of the Supreme Court judge, from her childhood in New York to her role as a pop culture icon.

Pursuing justice is at the center of Ruth Bader Ginsburg's career in law. Her focus has been eradicating gender-based discrimination. She became the second woman to serve on the Supreme Court. A graduate of Cornell University and Columbia Law School, she had trouble getting work even though she was at the top of her class. She became a law professor and worked for the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). This Justice is known for her courage and educated opinions.

Legal pioneer Ruth Bader Ginsburg started Harvard Law School in 1956. As a student, she had to defend why a woman should be allowed to take a place in a law class that would train a man to be a lawyer. Her young daughter was part of her inspiration to succeed. Although first in her class, she was turned down by 14 law firms because of her gender. She became an advocate for women's rights, arguing gender cases before the country's highest court. Appointed by Bill Clinton, she joined the Supreme Court as a justice.

An extensive list of Justice Ginsberg's credentials.

Biographical information about Biles.

Easy reader ebook about Biles' life.

Detailed biographical information about Biles.

Career highlights, national competition results, and information about Biles' hobbies and other interests.

Biographical information about Biles from her personal website.

Profiles the 2017 inauguration of President Donald J. Trump, the 45th president of the United States of America. As a former television host and billionaire businessman, with no political or military experience, President Trump moves into the White House following the 2016 presidential election. The program highlights distinct features of President Trump's election to the presidency and communication style, and discusses the history of presidential inaugurations in the United States.

Detailed biography of Trump.

Donald Trump: 45th US President explores Trump's early life, his formative years, his career, and the campaign that brought him into office as America's 45th president

Biography of President Trump from the White House.

Short biography about Cobb.

Take a look at Chapter 3, all about Cobb. Traces the history of the Detroit Tigers, highlights significant games and players, and includes photographs, a time line, statistics, quotes, anecdotes, and a glossary.

Biography of Cobb from World Book.

Take a look at the front and back of this baseball card featuring Cobb from 1912.

Learn about Cobb and the baseball scandal he was accused of being a part of.

Short biography of the founder of St. Jude Research Hospital, Danny Thomas.

Short biography of Thomas' life.

Biography with extensive information about Thomas' career in TV and radio.

Obituary looking back on Thomas's life and accomplishments.

Susan B. Anthony was arrested for trying to vote because she was a woman. She was found gulity and was fined. The National Women's Suffrage Movement was a movement trying to give women the right to vote same as any man. This movement swept across the nation and the 19th Amendment finally passed.

Susan B. Anthony, an advocate for women's writes, was arrested when she attempted to vote during an election

Susan B. Anthony helped women win the right to vote. Photographs and easy-to-read text tells the story of this great woman in history.

Take a look at the chapter all about Susan B. Anthony. Jules Archer's account offers fascinating biographies of Susan B. Anthony, Margaret Sanger, and Betty Friedan, with a full background of the political organizations they worked for and against.

Biography of Susan B. Anthony from Time for Kids.

Timeline highlighting major events in Anthony's life.

Short biography of Anthony.

Biography of Mercury.

Encyclopedia entry on Mercury from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Article about Queen, the band that Mercury led.