Chariho Middle School Library: Holocaust

In October 1944, men forced to work in the Auschwitz-Birkenau crematoria tried to blow it up. They recognized that the Nazis were beginning to lose the war, and that it was only a matter of time before those remaining in the camp were all murdered. The men relied on women, who were in forced labor elsewhere, to supply the gunpowder necessary for the uprising to occur. Holocaust survivor Anna Heilman was one of those women.(3:35 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

In his USC Shoah Foundation testimony, Holocaust survivor Sol Liber describes his involvement in the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising in Poland in 1943. (3:33 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

In her USC Shoah Foundation testimony, Holocaust political prisoner Vera Laska describes the circumstances that led to her involvement in the resistance in Czechoslovakia during the war. (1:39 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This is a video segment on the Jewish Resistance. (3:27 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site describes the resistance group known as the White Rose.

This video explains white the White Rose was and the impact of their actions. (9:59 min)

This website discusses the founding and impact of the White Rose resistance group.

This site describes Denmark's efforts to save jews during WWII.

This site contains videos about the rescue of jews in Denmark during WWII.

This site has a detailed report on how Denmark saved Jews during WWII.

A brief summary on polish resistance.

Short video about Frank's life and work from the Anne Frank House museum. Check out the site for further information.

A journal is a collection of thoughts and experiences. This part presents a video about Anne Frank to show that her journal can teach us about the time period in which she lived.(5:47 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Developed in cooperation with the Anne Frank Center in Amsterdam, Anne Frank's story encourages students to examine their own attitudes about human rights, prejudice, morality, and justice.(42:34 min) Look at the video clips from the movie to pinpoint information you may need if you don't want to watch the entire video. Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your bithdate.

Anne Frank's diary has become one of the most widely read books in the world. Readers will learn about Anne as she went into hiding from the Nazi Party in this nonfiction title. Through vibrant images, informational text, timelines, and a glossary of terms, readers will discover the hardships Anne and her family went through in order to avoid being sent to a concentration camp. Reading Level 4.8

A brief biography from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

The haunting account of the young Anne Frank and her tragically short life as a hidden Jewish fugitive during the Holocaust continues to deeply move and inspire readers, decades after she wrote what became The Diary of a Young Girl.

This site provides background on the Hitler Youth organization.

This site has information on the formation of the Hitler Youth organization.

This site has information on the history and requirements of the Hitler Youth organization.

In his USC Shoah Foundation testimony, Holocaust survivor H. Henry Sinason discusses the Hitler Youth movement and incidents of anti-Semitism he experienced in Berlin, Germany in the 1930s.(1:55 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This video demonstrates how Hitler Youth appealed to young people in Germany (13:54 min) This video is based on the experiences of a young man growing up in Germany at that time.

This site offers a detailed biography of Adlof Hitler.

This site offers an account of Adlof Hitler's life.

This site has many resources on Adolf Hitler and the influences on his life.

Examines the life of Adolf Hitler, discussing his childhood, attempts to become an artist, family, anti-Semitic views, World War I service, oratory skills, rise to power, rule, downfall, and other related topics.

Why did Adolf Hitler encourage attacks on Jews and their property, escalating Nazi Germany's anti-Semitic policies to new levels of brutality? How did his decision affect countries around the world and change the course of history?

Hitler took over Germany and established Nazism and fascism as dominant political forces.(2:05 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

A detailed description and history of Auschwitz is available on this page.

This website covers the history of this concentration camp

This site had basic information about the concentration camp.

This site has very detailed information about the layout and operation of the camp.

Auschwitz was "hell on earth" as prisoners were wakened at 3:00 a.m. to work, while in the evening they could see the flames of the crematorium. Political prisoners and others were also sent to concentration camps.(4:05 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

n her USC Shoah Foundation testimony, Holocaust survivor Renée Firestone describes when she was deported by train to Auschwitz-Birkenau in March of 1944, about two months before the photos in the Auschwitz Album were taken. (3:11 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This article is about a survivor of Auschwitz.

Born in Romania in 1928, Eliezer (“Elie”) Wiesel had a childhood steeped in the traditions of his Orthodox Jewish family. From the moment of his family's deportation to the death camp at Auschwitz and the horrors that awaited there, the teenaged Elie focused all his energies on staying alive. Elie has dedicated his life to the pursuit of peaceful, humanitarian goals as a writer and activist.

This site provides a brief biography/

Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site offers a brief biography of Himmler.

This is a link to a Britannica biography on Heinrich Himmler.

This is a brief biography of Heinrich Himmler

A brief biography and information on his efforts to save jews during World War II are provided on this site.

This site provides an overview of Oskar's heroic actions to save jews during World War II.

This site has a detailed biography on Oscar Schindler.

A bief article on a survivor.

A description of how Gino Bartali saved jews during World War II is provided on this site.

A description of Gino Bartali's efforts to save jews during World War 11.

This video describes how Gino saved jews in Italy in World War II. (1:13min)

This article provides a detailed description of Gino's heroic actions during WWII.

This site offers a brief biography of Miep Gies

This site has a detailed biography of Miep Gies.

A brief account of Miep Gies' life is available on this page.

This video clip includes Miep being interviewed and details about the Frank family. (9:51 min)

This site offers a brief biography of Sir Winton and his heroic efforts in saving jews during World War II.

This is the story of Sir Winton and how he saved children during WWII.

This is a brief biography of how Nicholas Winton saved children during WWII.

This site has a biography of Nicholas Winton and how he saved children during WWII.

This site explains the purpose of the conference.

This site reveals the purpose of the Wannsee Conference.

This article explains what the conference was.

This time article discusses the Wannsee Conference.

This is an article on the Wannsee Conference.

This is an article on the "Final Solution."