A book talk by Sue Allen and Taylor Merritt about An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz and A History of the Narragansett Tribe of Rhode Island Keepers of the Bay by Robert A. Geake.
In classrooms, on mobile devices, and at home, BrainPOP engages students through animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program. It is our hope that Ben’s Guide to the U.S. Government fulfills that role.
Our primary source sets are helpful resources for educators preparing to teach remotely during the COVID-19 outbreak. Each set contains a variety of primary sources, context, lesson plans, discussion questions and student activities.
With a digital-first mission and focus, this initiative uses technology to amplify a diversity of women’s voices—not in one gallery or museum, but throughout the Smithsonian’s many museums, research centers, cultural heritage affiliates and wherever people are online—reaching millions of people in Washington, D.C., across the nation, and around the world.
American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps.
A massive, free collection of resources searchable by subject area and grade level, with subjects ranging from science and math to world languages and health.
A massive, free collection of resources searchable by subject area and grade level, with subjects ranging from science and math to world languages and health.
A massive, free collection of resources searchable by subject area and grade level, with subjects ranging from science and math to world languages and health.
A massive, free collection of resources searchable by subject area and grade level, with subjects ranging from science and math to world languages and health.
iCivics works to ensure every student in America receives a quality and engaging civic education and graduates from high school well prepared and enthusiastic for citizenship.
Our Universes, an inaugural exhibition of the National Museum of the American Indian, focuses on indigenous cosmologies—worldviews and philosophies related to the creation and order of the universe—and the spiritual relationship between humankind and the natural world. Organized around the solar year, the exhibition introduces visitors to indigenous peoples from across the Western Hemisphere who continue to express the wisdom of their ancestors in celebration, language, art, spirituality, and daily life. Included in the exhibition are these 9 animated traditional stories that give special meaning to the stars above.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Blendspace is a platform used to curate resources. This tool can be used by teachers to create lesson-flow playlists which students can access through a weblink and complete asynchronously.
Jamboard
Find this interactive whiteboard tool in your waffle! Use to do live demonstrations for your students--or use it when recording a video!
Interactive presentation tool which collects formative data in real time. Teachers can anonymously share student work with the class to enhance instruction or guide discussion. Nearpod presentation can be viewed live with teacher as facilitator or be viewed as asynchronously (as homework). Students need a device to interact with the presentation.
PowToonis a video animation software and a presentation animation software. You can easily create a simple animated video and then convert it into an animated presentation.
Preziis a presentation tool that can be used as an alternative to traditional slide making programs such as PowerPoint. Instead of slides, Prezi makes use of one large canvas that allows you to pan and zoom to various parts of the canvas and emphasize the ideas presented there.
Choose "Topic Search: Current Events" to choose from newspaper and magazine articles, country reports, books and encyclopedias, biographies, state and province reports, primary source documents, and photos, maps and flags.
The New York Times Learning Network is a free service for students in grades 3-12, their teachers and parents. Be aware of limited placed on how many articles can be accessed.
Provides links to current events news; offers a variety of perspectives on the same topic. AllSides also provides a bias rating for all major news sources.
There are lots of fun activities you can do right from your home, backyard, or neighborhood. Try some of these activities on your own or with your family!
Edpuzzleis a video manipulation tool. A video can be found on, or uploaded into the site. Questions and prompts can be loaded into specific spots on the video Students answer the questions and the teacher has access to data reporting their responses.
Flipgrid is a website that allows teachers to create "grids" of short discussion-style questions that students respond to through recorded videos. Each grid is effectively a message board where teachers can pose a question and their students can post 90-second video responses that appear in a tiled "grid" display.
Kahoot is a game-based classroom response system. Create and play quizzes, discussions or even surveys (which we call Kahoots) using any device with a web browser. The class and students can see the correct response as soon as all students have entered the answers. A chart with the class results is also visible giving way for on-demand teaching opportunities. Teachers can view the complete set of student results after the quiz and use it for formative or summative assessment purposes.
No RedInk is an adaptive online aplication that helps students improve their gramma/writing skills using their personal interests with interactive lessons. NoRedInk allows teachers to provide students extra practice with commas, capitalization, and run-on sentences, while also being able to track whether students have completed assignments and whether they have mastered the topic. You could assign students practice for homework, and either assign practice to the whole class or specify certain assignments only for specific students.
Padletis a free Internet application that allows people to express their thoughts on a common topic easily. It works like an online sheet of paper where educators can put any content (e.g. images, videos, documents, text) anywhere on the page, together with anyone from any device
Quizizz is a game based response system that can be played on any device with a web browser. Reports are generated to the teacher, whole class and individual
student data. Quizizz can be teacher led or set for individual work.
SeeSaw is a tool to collect videos, pictures, and documents of student work into a digital portfolio. Teachers can maintain blog updates to inform students and teachers about the work. Teachers can provide feedback to the students related to the work in their portfolio. Parents can be invited to their student’s portfolio to view and comment on the work and see teacher blog updates.
Dreamboxis a K-8 standards aligned math program which personalizes questions for individual students. This adaptive software also sends data reports to teachers which indicate students’ ongoing strengths and needs. Students are provided digital manipulatives and video tutorials to support problem solving.
Voices of Youth offers opinions and insights about the top humanitarian issues from young people across the globe, focusing on those who are making a difference in their community.
