Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Frank E. Thompson Middle School Library: Glossary Research Terms

Glossary of Research Terms

Academic Journal
A subject-specific publication published periodically and edited by experts in the journal subject area.  Find journal articles by searching JSTOR or Gale  (click on the Peer Reviewed box in the Advanced Search area).

Blog

A website where an author or group of authors write ongoing commentary, usually about a particular subject. 

Databases
Databases are sometimes called the "deep web" or "invisible web" because their information is accessible via fee-based subscriptions using passwords and isn't usually indexed by search engines such as Google. Database records are organized using a variety of indexes such as author and subject but are keyword searchable as well.  Databases are either subject specific such as World History in Context or content specific such as the newspaper and magazine database through iCONN. 

Podcast
An audio broadcast usually aired on a regular schedule.  You can subscribe to podcasts or download them onto portable audio devices.  TED talks are great to listen to and offer information on a wide variety of subjects by topic experts.

Tweet
A very short blog entry (150 characters) using a website called Twitter.  During protests in Iran Tweets were the only way news was getting out.  Read this article in Time Magazine about Twitter and breaking news. 

Wiki
A website where people can collaborate on a document or collection of information.  One of the most visited sites on the Internet is Wikipedia. 

Need Some Help?

Need help with your paper? Stop by the Library.