1. Find information about your person. See below for suggested databases and web sites.
2. Keep track of where you get your facts, so that you can create a bibliography citing your sources. See the next tab for formatting information.
3. Create a mobile that shares facts about your person. Remember, if you print off photos or other graphics off the Internet, you need to credit the source.
Since, as far as we know, none of you have met and conducted personal interviews with these people, you need to give credit to the sources where you found your information. This includes books, articles, and web sites. Here's how to write them in your bibliography/works cited page using MLA 8style, per the Purdue Online Writing Lab. Email Ms. Moore at mmoore@cpsed.net you have any questions or if you find a source type that isn't listed below.
Article from Encyclopedia or Other Reference Book
Author. "Article title." Name of encyclopedia. Publisher, Publication date. (Note: If accessed online, include the date).
Luft, Eric V. D. "Daniel Hale Williams." Great Lives from History: African Americans. Salem Press, 2010. Accessed 18 Jan. 2018.
Book
Author. Book title. Publisher, Publication date.
Hinman, Bonnie. Benjamin Banneker: American Mathematician and Astronomer. Chelsea House Publishers, 2000.
Magazine Article found on Explora
Author. "Article title." Magazine name, vol. X, no. X, year, pages. (Note: This can be scooped up from the results page and reformatted.) Explora. Accessed DD Month YYYY.
"ACT-SO in Honor of Percy Lavon Julian." New Crisis, vol. 106, no. 5, p. 64. Accessed 18 Jan. 2018.
Video
Author. "Name of video." Web site where you found it, uploaded by Uploader, date, URL.
"David Blackwell - 2012 National Medal of Science." Youtube, uploaded by National Medals, 5 Dec. 2104, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7GoI0TNvZM
Web Site
Author. "Article title." Web site name, URL. Accessed DD Month YYYY.
Absher, Amy. "Samuel Proctor Massie." Blackpast.org, http://www.blackpast.org/aah/massie-samuel-proctor-1919-2005. Accessed 18 Jan. 2018.
Click the name of the person you are researching to access a page of information Ms. Moore found for you. Most of them are not written specifically for kids, so you may run into some long sentences and unfamiliar words, but you should be able to understand the gist.
NOTE: Ms. Moore checked out several sites, and chose these two as most appropriate for this project. If you find other sites on your own, be sure to evaluate them for credibility before using the for your research. You can also send the URL to Ms. Moore at mmoore@cpsed.net, and she can let you know whether it's good to use for school. Youtube is not available to students at school, but at home, you can look for videos about your person as well.
NOTE: To use these free resources, you must be using a computer with a Rhode Island IP address.
This online encyclopedia allows you to search by keyword. It doesn't work like Google; you can't type in a question. Just enter your person's name to get a page of article results. Click "Read More" to read the article.
This database lets you narrow your search results to "magazines" and/or "encyclopedias." Some articles will be text on the computer; others will be a picture of the original publication page, like this story about Garrett Morgan and roundup of inventions:
