Some of the resources on this page require a username and password. Click on the link below for this information.
Britannica School is an encyclopedia source, and it also includes primary source documents.
ImageQuest allows you to search millions of rights-cleared images to use in your work.
Both of these resources require a username and password to use at home.
The World Book encyclopedias are a great starting place for research. You can also find primary source documents and even e-books here!
When you follow this link, you will be asked to choose a product. For most research, choose Middle School, Advanced, which is designed for high school students, or Academic, which is designed for college students.
Specialized databases that you might find useful are Early Peoples (origins and rise of various civilizations and cultures), Inventions and Discoveries (objects and ideas that have shaped how we live today), and Living Green (impact of modern life on the environment).
You may need either a library barcode number or a username and password to use this resource at home. If you have a public library card, you can enter your number; otherwise, see the Usernames and Passwords section of this page for login information.
CultureGrams allows you to easily research the countries of the world. This resource requires a username and password to use at home.
Access to videos, sound effects, songs, virtual labs, games and more!
Use Clever to log in
Learn more about life, earth, and physical science topics in this database. This resource requires a username and password to use at home.
ASKRI.org is RI's free statewide database system. It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents. Check it out - It's great!
Tutor.com– Live tutoring by Internet chat is provided free of charge between 2PM and 10PM daily for grades K-12 in the following subjects: Math, Science, English, Social Studies, Writing. This service is powered by tutor.com Also includes Homework Resources section (lessons, study guides, worksheets and videos)
Career Center @Homework Help RI – Prepare for the SAT, ACT, standardized tests in all 50 states, graduate school entrance tests, civil service, GED etc. Local open jobs, resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and much more for job seekers.
World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages. Also includes World Book Digital Libraries: Living Green, Early Peoples, Inventions & Discoveries, and Dramatic Learning
Mango Languages – An online language-learning system for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.
Heritage Quest – Genealogy Resources
Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work. Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more.
A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses
EBSCO Host – Databases include: