Skip to main content

Cranston High School East Library: Gale, AskRI & CultureGrams

Informational Handout - Gale Databases & AskRI.org

Click on the link below to download an informational handout about the Gale and AskRI databases. 

Gale Databases available through the CHSE Library

The CHSE Library's Gale Databases offer professionally published information written by experts.  They provide quick access to quality information for your research assignments. 

To access the CHSE Gale Databases, use the password cran_log 

Student Resources in Context  - Includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database. 

Opposing Viewpoints - Information about current topics and controversial issues.  It includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, and audio files. 

Virtual Reference Library - A collection of e-books in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets. 

Literature Resource Center - Includes up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

 

Bloom's Literary Reference Online

Username: cranston-east

Password: thunderbolts

This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts on File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

Culturegrams

Through the RILINK consortium, the CHSE Library also has a subscription to Culturegrams.  Culturegrams is an online learning resource that provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on hundreds of countries, as well as the U.S. states and Canadian Provinces.   Please see Mrs. Blais to get the username and password for Culturegrams.  Click on the links below to access Culturegrams, and a Culturegrams information sheet.  

Tutor.com

 

All CPS students now have access to Tutor.com through the Cranston Public Library’s website (this service was formerly available through AskRI.org).  

 

Students just need to type in their Cranston Public Library card number to access Tutor.com.  Library cards are free and can be attained at any public library throughout Cranston.

 

Tutor.com is available from 2-10 pm every day, and students are connected via chat with live tutors in the subject area in which they need help. Students receive individual, personalized assistance at no cost through this service, and no personal information needs to be entered by the student.  In addition, Tutor.com provides test prep, essay editing, and practice problems and quizzes.  

 

More information about tutor.com can be found on the Cranston Public Library’s Website.  

AskRI Databases

AskRI.org is RI's free statewide database system.  It includes all of the resources listed below and is free of charge for all RI residents.  Check it out - It's great!

World Book Web – Includes Encyclopedias for all ages.  Also includes World Book Digital Libraries: Living Green, Early Peoples, Inventions & Discoveries, and Dramatic Learning

Mango Languages – An online language-learning system  for learning English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Heritage Quest – Genealogy Resources

Learning Express – Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, information for school & work.  Includes AP practice exams, PSAT & SAT practice exams, eBooks on test taking skills, and more. 

A to Z Databases – Research United States Businesses

EBSCO Host – Databases include:

  • Literary Reference Center (Full-text database - similar to Gale’s Literature Resource Center)
  • Biography Collection Complete (Over 177,000 full text biographies)
  • Points of View ( Full Text Database that provides essays stating both sides of controversial issues)
  • Student Research Center (Search magazines, newspapers, book & encyclopedias, biographies, Radio & TV news transcripts, Country reports, State/Province reports, Primary source documents, Photos, Maps, Flags, Film & video)
  • MasterFILE (full text for 1700 periodicals)
  • GreenFILE (information about human impact to the environment)
  • ERIC & Teacher Reference Center
  • Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
  • Primary Search (full text magazine database for elementary students)
  • TOPICsearch (full text articles from newspapers and government information)
  • Academic Search Elite (full text for nearly 2100 journals)
  • History Reference Center (full text of 1600 Reference books, 150 periodicals, 57,000 historical documents, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 historical photos & maps, 80 hours of historical video)
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • Novelist (Readers’ Advisory for fiction books)