Skip to Main Content

Cranston High School East Library: Aucoin - American Events Research Project

Assignment Information

Click on the link below to read information about your assignment. 

Free Online Citation Creators

Use the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources. 

CHSE English Department Guide

Created by the CHSE English Department, this guide provides step-by-step directions for writing a research paper and includes directions for citing sources.  Click on the above link to download the "Writing the Research Paper" guide.

Standards

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RH.9-10.1 - Cite specific textual evidence to support analysis of primary and secondary sources, attending to such features as the date and origin of the information.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RH.9-10.2 - Determine the central ideas or information of a primary or secondary source; provide an accurate summary of how key events or ideas develop over the course of the text.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.WHST.9-10.6 - Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology's capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.WHST.9-10.7 - Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.WHST.9-10.8 - Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.WHST.9-10.9 - Draw evidence from informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.‚Äč

Search the CHSE Library Catalog

Student Resources in Context

Student Resources in Context includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database. The password is cran_log

x

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Center is a collection of e-books in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  The password is cran_log. 

x

AskRI's History Reference Center

The History Reference Center contains a weath of information about American and World History.  You can access it by clicking on the icon above, or by going to the Ebsco database section on http://askri.org

World Book Student