Skip to Main Content

Cranston High School East Library: Sparks - Writing Your Research Paper

Gale in Context

 

 

 

The password is cran_log
‚Äč
Gale in Context includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database.

Gale eBooks

The password is cran_log.
Gale eBooks is a collection of eBooks in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  

AskRI's History Reference Center

The History Reference Center contains a weath of information about American and World History.  You can access it by clicking on the icon above, or by going to the Ebsco database section on http://askri.org

World Book Student

World Book Advanced


Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches a variety of academic sources. Not every source listed is available in full text online. 

Google Scholar Search

Google Web Search

Google Web Search

Standards

American Association of School Librarians Standards:

1.1.1    Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.

1.1.2    Use prior and background knowledge as context for new learning.

1.1.4    Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.  

1.1.5    Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context. 

1.1.6    Read, view, and listen for information presented in any format (e.g., textual, visual, media, digital) in order to make inferences and gather meaning.

1.1.8   Demonstrate mastery of technology tools for accessing information and pursuing inquiry. 

1.3.1    Respect copyright/intellectual property rights of creators and producers.

1.3.3    Follow ethical and legal guidelines in gathering and using information.

1.3.5    Use information technology responsibly.

Common Core State Standards

Standard W.9-10.1:    Write arguments to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.

Standard W.9-10.4:    Produce clear and concise writing in which the development, organization, and style are appropriate to task, purpose, and audience.

Search the CHSE Library Catalog

Logging in to the Library Catalog , Renewing Books & Placing an Inter-Library Loan Request

Please follow these steps to log in to the CHSE Library Catalog and place a book on hold from another library:

  1. Click advanced search (in blue) in the above "Search the CHSE  Library Catalog" box.
  2. Click the login button in the top right hand corner.
  3. Type in your username and password. (Username=CRA plus your student ID# Password=your student ID number)
  4. Select "RICAT (All members)" from the "location" dropdown menu.
  5. Search for a book.
  6. Click on title of the book you want to place on hold.
  7. Click on the "Hold It" icon in the upper right corner (above green arrow).
  8. Click on Save and you are done.  We will send a notice to your homeroom when your book arrives.  

To renew your books, click on the "Circulation" tab and then type in the complete barcode found on your book. 

To view your library record (items out, fines, hold requests, etc.), click on the "My Info." tab. 

CHSE English Department Guide

Created by the CHSE English Department, this guide provides step-by-step directions for writing a research paper and includes directions for citing sources.  Click on the link below to download the "Writing the Research Paper" guide.

Purdue OWL MLA Citation Guide

The Purdue Owl guide is the authority on citation and MLA Format.  

Free Online Citation Creators

Use the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources.