Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics. This is a good all-purpose database. The password is cran_log
The History Reference Center contains a weath of information about American and World History. You can access it by clicking on the icon above, or by going to the Ebsco database section on http://askri.org.
Explora for Secondary Schools is a great all-purpose database. This site is provided to us through http://askri.org. No password is needed.
Created by the CHSE English Department, this guide provides step-by-step directions for writing a research paper and includes directions for citing sources. Click on the link below to download the "Writing the Research Paper" guide.
The Purdue Owl guide is the authority on citation and MLA Format.
Use the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources.
Use the links below to access World Book Encyclopedia Articles on your topics:
American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner:
1.1.1 Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.
1.1.3 Develop and refine a range of questions to frame the search for new understanding.
1.1.4 Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.
1.1.5 Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context.
1.3.1 Respect copyright/intellectual property rights of creators and producers.
1.3.3 Follow ethical and legal guidelines in gathering and using information.
1.3.5 Use information technology responsibly.
Common Core State Standards:
CC.9-10.W.1 Text Types and Purposes: Write arguments to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.
CC.9-10.W.2 Text Types and Purposes: Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately through the effective selection, organization, and analysis of content.
CC.9-10.W.2.b Text Types and Purposes: Develop the topic with well-chosen, relevant, and sufficient facts, extended definitions, concrete details, quotations, or other information and examples appropriate to the audience’s knowledge of the topic.
CC.9-10.W.7 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.
CC.9-10.W.8 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.