Skip to Main Content

Cranston High School East Library: Salimeno - Debate Resources

Mrs. Salimeno's Evaluating Evidence Checklist

Points of View Database

Points of View Databases provides articles on both sides of current controversial issues.  This site is provided to us through http://askri.org.  No password is needed.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

The password is cran_log. 
Opposing Viewpoints is the place to look for information about current topics and controversial issues.  It includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, and audio files
.  

Student Resources in Context

 

 

 

The password is cran_log
‚Äč
Gale in Context includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database.

ProCon.org

ProCon.org contains arguments on both sides of nearly 50 issues. 

Nonfiction Books

The CHSE Library has a wide variety of nonfiction books about current issues.  Use the Library Catalog search box below to look for books on your topic.  You can search for books in the CHSE Library, and you can also request books from other school libraries throughout RI. 

Search the CHSE Library Catalog

Find:

Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Logging in to the Library Catalog , Renewing Books & Placing an Inter-Library Loan Request

Please follow these steps to log in to the CHSE Library Catalog and place a book on hold from another library:

  1. Click advanced search (in blue) in the above "Search the CHSE  Library Catalog" box.
  2. Click the login button in the top right hand corner.
  3. Type in your username and password. (Username=CRA plus your student ID# Password= your student ID#)
  4. Select "RICAT (All members)" from the "location" dropdown menu.
  5. Search for a book.
  6. Click on title of the book you want to place on hold.
  7. Click on the "Hold It" icon in the uper right corner (above green arrow).
  8. Click on Save and you are done.  We will send a notice to your homeroom when your book arrives.  

To renew your books, click on the "Circulation" tab and then type in the complete barcode found on your book. 

To view your library record (items out, fines, hold requests, etc.), click on the "My Info." tab. 

American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner

"Standards for the 21st-Century Learner offer vision for teaching and learning to both guide and beckon our profession as education leaders. They will both shape the library program and serve as a tool for school librarians to use to shape the learning of students in the school." ( http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/learning-standards)

Click here to access the American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner. 

Free Online Citation Creators

Use the EasyBib Add-on in Google Docs , or go to the free online citation creators below to generate and save citations for all types of sources. 

Standards

American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner:

1.1.1    Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.

1.1.3    Develop and refine a range of questions to frame the search for new understanding.

1.1.4    Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.  

1.1.5    Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context.

Common Core State Standards:

CC.11-12.W.1 Text Types and Purposes: Write arguments to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.

CC.11-12.W.2 Text Types and Purposes: Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately through the effective selection, organization, and analysis of content.

CC.11-12.W.2.b Text Types and Purposes: Develop the topic thoroughly by selecting the most significant and relevant facts, extended definitions, concrete details, quotations, or other information and examples appropriate to the audience’s knowledge of the topic.

CC.11-12.W.7 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.

CC.11-12.W.8 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and overreliance on any one source and following a standard format for citation.