Skip to Main Content

Cranston High School East Library: Watts - Genocide 2023 Research Project

Gale eBooks

The password is cran_log.
Gale eBooks is a collection of eBooks in many topics including literature, science, social studies, medicine, law, history and the environment.  This database includes full-text reference books and specialized encyclopedia sets.  

The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity is an eBook reference set that is perfect for this project. It is located in the History section of Gale eBooks.

 

 

 

Genocide: Stand By or Intervene is one of many books in the Social Science section of Gale eBooks that may be useful for this project. Other titles in this section include Afghanistan, Cambodia, East Pakistan, El Salvador and Guatemala, Kosovo, The Kurds, The People's Republic of China, South Africa, Tibet, Sri Lanka, and Uganda.  

 

  Learning About the Holocaust: A Student's Guide and World War II Reference Library both contain useful information for this project. 

Gale in Context

 

 

 

The password is cran_log
‚Äč
Gale in Context includes content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.  Use this database to search for information about people, places, events, and other topics.  This is a good all-purpose database.

AskRI's History Reference Center

The History Reference Center contains a weath of information about American and World History.  You can access it by clicking on the icon above, or by going to the Ebsco database section on http://askri.org

Suggestion: Use this database to find information about Rwanda.

World Book Student

MLA Citation Maker (OSLIS)

The MLA Citation Maker from OSLIS in Oregon is an effective, streamlined tool for creating MLA citations.

Standards

American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st Century Learner:

1.1.1    Follow an inquiry based process in seeking knowledge in curricular subjects, and make the real world connection for using this process in own life.

1.1.3    Develop and refine a range of questions to frame the search for new understanding.

1.1.4    Find, evaluate, and select appropriate sources to answer questions.  

1.1.5    Evaluate information found in selected sources on the basis of accuracy, validity, appropriateness for needs, importance, and social and cultural context.

Common Core State Standards:

CC.11-12.W.1 Text Types and Purposes: Write arguments to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.

CC.11-12.W.2 Text Types and Purposes: Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately through the effective selection, organization, and analysis of content.

CC.11-12.W.2.b Text Types and Purposes: Develop the topic thoroughly by selecting the most significant and relevant facts, extended definitions, concrete details, quotations, or other information and examples appropriate to the audience’s knowledge of the topic.

CC.11-12.W.7 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.

CC.11-12.W.8 Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and overreliance on any one source and following a standard format for citation.