Winman Library: History Day

World Book Online Encyclopedia for background information and topic ideas:  World Book Advanced Link

• History Reference Center, Student Research Center and EBSCO database of magazine and journal articles

Also Useful:   Encyclopedia Britannica (your first article is free)

HOW to Use the EBSCO Database:

• Must access from AskRI.org
• Keywords / search terms
• Choose "All Databases" OR read list and check best databases
• Refine your results for publication dates – "Update"
• Full text (if not available, contact askri.org librarian)
• Scroll through results – type of publication (don’t want "Review"); read short summary
• Things you can do: email, save to flash, save to folder (create profile), cite in MLA

1) Create a list of search terms

Brainstorm and add to the list as you continue your research and come across related terms.

2) Set up a graphic organizer or note-taking system  

There are many ways to take notes, but you should include the following key points on source that you use:

– Citation, including author, title, publisher, date of publication, date of access

– Notes (Use key words and phrases; avoid using whole sentences unless you plan to use an in-text citation)

-Whether you're looking at a primary or secondary source.

Here's a possible note taking template to use at this first stage of your research process:  Step One Note Taking Template

3) Keep track of resources as you use them!!

Here's a note taking template you can use once you have your thesis statement:  Note taking Template #2

All things Annotated Bibliography

1.  From National History Day's website

National History Day's Information Page on Annotated Bibliography

2.  Purdue University has helpful resources:

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab

OWL at Purdue: Sample Annotations

3.  There are many citation generators, including one under Tools in Google Docs as well as Easy Bib:

Citation Generator:  MyBib