Skip to Main Content

Narragansett High School Library: Finding and Using Research Studies

Home page for Narragansett HS LibGuides

Finding and Using Research Studies

Conducting effective by Joanne Gongoleski

Proquest Databases

Databases available:

  • eLibrary--A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content.
  • History Study Center--A resource for the study of over 2000 years of world history, from ancient times to present day.
  • Proquest Learning: Literature--This resource delivers over 180,000 searchable works of literature from medieval times to the present.
  • SIRS Issues Researcher--An editorial curated pro/con database that meets the research needs of students and educators by providing premium content correlated to key curricular standards and subjects. 
  • Proquest--The Proquest unified platform makes hundreds of full text and A&I (abstract and index) collections available to researchers.  Includes Research Library and Historical Newspapers.

  

AskRI---EBSCO Database Access

​​Databases Available:

EBSCO Host:

  • GreenFile--information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
  • MEDLINE--authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
  • ERIC--information on education and educational research.
  • MasterFILE Premier--multidisciplinary database providing information on virtually every subject area.
  • History Reference Center--history-based information.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts--information covering topics pertinent to librarianship.
  • Middle Search Plus--general information from middle school magazines and texts.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia--provides encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
  • Primary Search--general information for elementary level students.
  • TOPICsearch--collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
  • Teacher Reference Center--provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
  • Academic Search Elite--provides information from scholarly journals and texts.
  • Literary Reference Center--literary database comprised of summaries, literary overviews, biographies, literary criticisms.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750--index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas.
  • eBook Collection--search and view the full text of eBooks.
  • Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)--provides biographies of influential people.
  • Open Dissertations--locates scholarly dissertations.
  • Biography Reference Center--provides biographies of influential people.
  • Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
  • Biography Reference eBook Collection
  • Middle Search Reference eBook Collection
  • History Reference eBook Collection
  • MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
  • Literary Reference eBook Collection
  • Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection--rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics
  • Points of View Reference Center--provides students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Flipster:

  • Flipster offers an easy, browse-able reading experience. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific periodicals. An online newsstand provides a carousel of the most recent issues, as well as a carousel of all issues allowing for quick access to magazines. The table of contents contains links for quick access to articles of interest and hotlinks within magazines are hyperlinked, opening in separate tabs when clicked. In addition, there is an option to zoom in and out for better readability.