Narragansett High School Library: Westward Expansion Podcast

Discusses the historical, legal, and social aspects of the Supreme Court case of "Worcester v. Georgia," which addressed the state government's infringement on Cherokee Native American tribe's sovereignty.

A sixth-generation North Carolinian, highly-acclaimed author John Ehle grew up on former Cherokee hunting grounds. His experience as an accomplished novelist, combined with his extensive, meticulous research, culminates in this moving tragedy rich with historical detail. The Cherokee are a proud, ancient civilization. For hundreds of years they believed themselves to be the "Principle People" residing at the center of the earth. But by the 18th century, some of their leaders believed it was necessary to adapt to European ways in order to survive. Those chiefs sealed the fate of their tribes in 1875 when they signed a treaty relinquishing their land east of the Mississippi in return for promises of wealth and better land. The U.S. government used the treaty to justify the eviction of the Cherokee nation in an exodus that the Cherokee will forever remember as the "trail where they cried." The heroism and nobility of the Cherokee shine through this intricate story of American politics, ambition, and greed. B & W photographs

Brimming with quotes from original source documents, this young adult series explores the complex relations between Native Americans and non-Indians from the arrival of Columbus to the present day. All titles make clear the importance of Native Americans to this country's past and its present.By weaving passages from original documents into dramatic narratives, each title in the series creates a remarkably vivid portrait of specific aspects of American Indian heritage and history. The series provides the kind of valuable information too frequently left out of textbooks and general histories. Each practical reference is enhanced by carefully chosen historical drawings, photographs, and maps; an up-to-date bibliography and further reading list; and a complete index.Children cry and many men cry, and all look sad like when friends die, but they say nothing and just put heads down and keep on go west. This vivid, disturbing account is one of the many compelling descriptions found in this history of the Cherokee Trail of Tears. An abundance of excerpts from original source documents and first-person narratives reveal the thoughts, actions, and feelings of both those of the Cherokee Nation and of the U.S. government during the forced exile of the Cherokee from their homeland.

Rooted in the southern Appalachian Mountains, the Cherokee people have preserved much of their rich cultural heritage in the face of great challenges, ranging from the forced march to Oklahoma along the Trail of Tears to inroads on tribal identity in modern times.

Native American history is filled with pain and suffering. The trail of tears is no different. More than 15,000 Cherokee Indians were removed by the U.S. Army. They were forced to travel over 1,000 miles, under very harsh conditions to Indian Territory. Along the trail, nearly 4,000 Cherokee died of starvation, exposure, or disease. This stirring volume examines the forced removal of Cherokee Indians from their native lands to the Oklahoma Territory, their subsequent history, and the legacy of these events.

The newly reunified United States experienced a tenuous peace following the American Civil War. It was a period characterized by great technological advances, but also by increased political, economic, and social polarization. This penetrating look at American history between the Civil War and 20th century includes firsthand accounts that reveal the prevailing ideologies of the time and shed light on significant people and events.

Provides a detailed account of American Indian Removal policy and its culmination at the massacre at Wounded Knee, including its social and political legacy in modern America. Includes a narrative overview, biographies, primary source documents, and other helpful features.

Primary documents can provide fascinating and engaging windows on history. Each volume in Greenhaven Press's Interpreting Primary Documents series is an anthology of primary sources on major events and developments in history. An in-depth introduction sets the stage by providing essential context. Each document is then preceded by an introduction that places it in its historical context. Guided reading questions assist the reader to interpret the document and to think critically about the topic at hand. Each anthology also includes an annotated table of contents, a thorough index, and a bibliography for further research. With its many valuable features, Greenhaven Press's Interpreting Primary Documents series assists students in exploring history while developing critical thinking and reading skills. Book jacket.

Research the Wild West from the perspective of the pioneers, cowboys, explorers and soldiers with 17 personal accounts written in journals, autobiographies, letters and other important primary source documents. From exploring the west and the Indian wars to the rush for gold and cattle ranching, Westward Expansion: Primary Sources covers all the excitement of exploration on the western frontier and includes excerpts from: The Life and Adventures of Nat Love Adventures of Zenas Leonard Fur Trader No Life for a Lady (autobiography of Agnes Morley Cleveland) Gold Rush Diaries The American Settlers Guide (by Henry N. Copp) Narrative of my Captivity Among the Sioux (by Fanny Kelly) Wooden Leg: A Warrior Who Fought Custer Andrew Jacksons Removal Act of 1830 And many others Also included are 65 photographs, a timeline, glossary, sources for further study, and subject index. 01

Part of a series of historical references, this volume addresses the expansion to the west which occurred in America, starting with the Colonial Frontier and tracing the California Gold Rush and the opening of the plains. Thousands of eyewitness accounts are used as the basis for the work.