Chariho Middle School Library: Ancient India/Buddhism/Hinduism/Mauryan Empire/Gupta Empire

The Shang Dynesty who lived by the Yellow River were connected by descent. They had the origins of a writing system; they asked advice of their ancestors, wrote lyric love poems, and serious philosophy with the Book of Changes which was used to divine the future. (1:55 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number.

As the culture of India entered into an age of mathematics in the third century B.C., early development of a decimal place-value system began. The ancient people of the Indus Valley learned to operate freely with zero and negative numbers, which was groundbreaking at the time. (7:07 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate as your password.

This article includes information on the Indus Valley and the Aryan people.

This site provides an introduction to the Indus Valley.

This website provides an overview including geography, cities, writing, agriculture, trade, religion and arts.

This site provides a lot of information on civilization in the Indus River Valley.

This is brief summary of the major features of the Indus River Valley Civilizations.(3:34 min)

The Indus River Valley (or Harappan) civilization lasted for 2,000 years, and extended from what is today northeast Afghanistan to Pakistan and northwest India. Sal explores the history of this civilization, its technological innovations, its art, its architectural practices, and its agriculture.(10:42 min)

Adherents of Buddhism, which developed from Hindu beliefs, seek to achieve enlightenment through specific practices and values. The Dalai Lama is the chief monk of Tibet. (7:03 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

This site provides an introduction to Buddhism.

Go to the chapter "The Indus River Valley" and you will be able to find information on Buddha.

This site has a video and history of Buddhism.

This site is very research friendly with information clearly labeled.

Buddhism is one of the world's major religions. It is also a philosophy. Buddhism was founded in India sometime around 525 BCE.

The article discusses association of the Hinduism, the Buddha, and the Ganges river along with information on the religious beliefs of the Hindus

What does a Buddhist believe? What are the basic beliefs of Buddhists? An introductory lecture to the basics of Buddhism. (10 min)

includes information on the Indus valley and the Aryan people.

The religions of the Indus Valley began with Brahmanism during the Vedic Age. As people grew more concerned with the concept of enlightenment and how to lead a moral life, Hinduism and Buddhism emerged and grew in popularity. (5:28 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

The caste you belong to is determined by birth. One group, the untouchables, is outside the caste system. Gandhi renamed them harijans, "children of God". -(1:19 min) Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Go to the Chapter "Ancient Indus River Valley". Here you will find information on Aryan and the Veda.

This site explains the caste system and how it began.

This online article gives a good overview of the period.

Scroll down to the Vedic period.

This video explains the Vedic Age(.6:06 min)

From the Vedas, the oldest known Hindu scriptures, scholars have learned about the existence of the Vedic period in ancient Indian history that followed the Indus River Valley civilization. Sal explains more about this early society.(8:11)

The Mauryan Empire's stability and longevity used law, legend and religion to organize and control the people. (2:24 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

Remember to log on with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate as your paswordAsoka expanded the Mauryan Empire and used elephants in battle, as weapons and vehicles, 325-185 BCE. - (5:44 min)

This site describes the Mauryan Empire it includes Asoka, Mauryan government and religion.

The Emperor Ashoka ruled the Mauryan Empire during the third century BCE in India. He was a brilliant military strategist who used elephants in battle. (2:04 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and your birthdate.

A site providing major information on the Mauryan empire.

Remember to use the arrows on the bottom to move to the next page.

Focuses on the life of Emperor Ashoka, third ruler of the Mauryan Empire in India. Establishment of the empire in 322 B.C. by Ashoka's grandfather; Details of how Ashoka came to power

Describes a lion capital that had been erected at Sarnath in northern India in about 250 B.C., which was when Ashoka was ruler of the Mauryan Empire.

Describes changes that Ashoka, third ruler of the Mauryan Empire of India, made to his style of ruling after the 261 B.C. conquest of Kalinga and his conversion to Buddhism.

Describes what happened to India's Mauryan Empire in the latter years of king Ashoka's reign and after his death in 232 B.C.

After the Nanda Dynasty fell, the Maurya Dynasty under Chandragupta Maurya came into power and brought the entire northern region of the Indian Subcontinent under one stable rule. His son Bindusara managed to maintain peace and even acquired the Southern parts of present-day Karnataka.(5:30 min)

Ashoka the great was emperor of the Maurya Dynasty who ruled the Indian subcontinent. (2:56 min)

Hindus follow ancient practices and beliefs and live their daily lives with the hope that upon death their actions will allow them to break the cycle of transmigration. The nonviolent teachings of M. K. Gandhi are an important part of both Hindu and contemporary world culture. - (5:05 min) Remember to logon with cms in front of your student id number and birthdate.

Go to the chapter "The Ancient Indus River Valley" and you will find some information on Hinduism.

A very detailed overview of Hinduism.

This is a great introduction to Hinduism.

Very research friendly site with clear labeling of information.

This site gives an overview of this religion.

The article offers information on the Ganges River in India. The author reflects on the role of the river in Hindu mythology, religious ceremonies, and festivals for Hindus to receive blessings

This is an encyclopedia article on Hinduism, religion that originated in India and is still practiced by most of its inhabitants, as well as by those whose families have migrated from India to other parts of the world

This video discuss beliefs and gods of Hinduism. (3:30 min)

An introductory lecture to the basics of Hinduism.(9:30 min)

This site provides an overview with some links to more information like "Daily Life".

Be sure to use the arrows on the bottom of the page to move back and forth to find all the information.

This site provides a brief description of the period.

This site provides the highlights of this empire.

This video shows the narrator traveling through India and discussing the wonders of the Gupta empire.

This is a narrated slideshow that gives an overview of the the Gupta Empire.

The article offers information on the number system provided by the Gupta mathematicians of the Gupta Empire, an ancient empire in India.

Discusses the religion prevalent in Gupta Dynasty of India. Religions favored by the rulers of Gupta Dynasty; Reason for donating money by the merchants; Hindu Gods and Goddesses