Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access up to date reference sources here!
Animal Diversity Web
The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services
Links to species identification information, endangered species list, fisheries, habitat information and more.
U.S. Geological Survey
Checklist of amphibian species and identification guide: An online guide for the identification of amphibians in North America north of Mexico.
The Marine Life Information Network
Open the website, click "search" and type the name of the sea plant or creature you are researching.
A wonderful source that combines an almanac, dictionary, and encyclopedia. It includes biographies of the United States Presidents. This page allows you to search through the entire archive of the site. Every day there is an interesting link to events in the past from primary source materials in the Library of Congress.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 36,868,852 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
This site focuses on the exploration period. It has a search engine for images. Under a link for "Historical Highlights" you can find a timeline of exploration.
Library of Congress
This is a wonderful collection from the Library of Congress. Resources available on this site include: manuscripts, texts, sheet music, maps, motion pictures, photos, prints, and sound recordings.
This site includes access to the 100 most important documents from the beginning of the history of the United States until the Civil Rights Act.
Using Primary Sources
Helpful tips for working with primary source documents.
RI Archival and Manuscript Collections Online
Browse RI specific collections from archives all around the state.
Read and compare constitutions from across the world.
America's Founding Documents
Access the Bill of Rights, Constitution, and the Declaration of Independence.
Access tons of information about artists, artwork, art movements, and art museums.
Search for word definitions, subjects and biographies.
Timelines, lifelines, major events, and more this tool will help you identify the most important events and people from the past.