Skip to main content

CMS Library: NoodleTools

Noodle Tools

Noodle Tools is a great tool to help you with your research projects!

Track your sources and notes, create outlines, and write your paper in Noodle Tools. Learn how to use it below!

Accessing Noodle Tools

This screencast will show you how to access NoodleTools through your Google waffle.

Citing Print Books as Sources

In order to create a citation for a print book you first want to be on the "Sources" tab at the top of the screen. Then you will click on the green "+ Create New Citation" button.  You will then choose "Print or in hand". A box will open up and you will click on "book" in the first column. Your easiest choice is to enter the ISBN number from the back cover of the book above the barcode or you can also find the ISBN number on the back of the title page. It can be entered without dashes.  The ISBN number will be entered in the empty box next to "Import" ISBN at the top of the page. When you have entered the number hit search. Double check the results to be sure you find the result that matches the book you used. Click on the correct title to choose it. Then click on the submit button when it fills in the citation. If you can't find what you need from the ISBN search you can fill in the requested information you have for author, title, publisher, etc and then click on the submit button. 

 

Citing and explora/EBSCO article

explora/EBSCO databases have newspaper, magazine, and encyclopedia articles. explora is the newer version of EBSCO. Fifth and sixth grades are best using explora for primary schools and seventh and eighth graders should choose explora for secondary schools. Once a search using keywords had been done find the article that you think will work best for your assigment. Click on the link and skim the article if you want to use it for your research find the "cite" icon on the left hand side of the screen. The cite icon is a tan square with what looks like lines on it. A window will open up and you need to scroll down in the window until you get to "MLA". Copy the informaton under the words "Work Cited" do not include Modern Language Association. Go to NoodleTools make sure you have the correct project open and are on the "Sources" tab. Click the green "Create a New Citation" button. Choose "Database" if you know you have an magazine or newspaper article click on which one you have used. If you are not sure click on "Original Content in Database". Find "Quick Cite: copy and paste a citation" at the top of the page. Click on the link and a new window will open. In the white block under the words "Manually Edited Citatioin" paste in the information you copied from explora/EBSCO. Scroll down click on the green submit button. If you do not click on the submit button it will not be added as a source.

Citing a Discovery Education Video

In order to create a citation for a Discovery Education video you want to make sure first that you are on the "Sources" tab. Then you will click on the green "+ Create a new citation" button.  A box will open up and you will choose "Viewed/heard live". Then you will click on the first option in the first column " Film or Video Recording". You are going to use the Quick Site: Copy and Paste a Citation link. You will open up another tab and go to the video you want to cite on Discovery Education. Scroll down and notice that there are three tabs below the video: Info, Citations, and Transcript. Click on the "Citations" tab and copy the information under MLA. Include only that information do not add any information from APA. Open the tab to Noodle Tools. Make sure you have clicked on the Quick Site: Copy and Paste link. Paste what you have copied into the first block beneath the "Manually- edited Citation". Then click on the submit button.

Citing a source from Points of View

When working with Points of View Database you will be searching for a topic. If the topic is in the Points of View Reference set your results will be limited to an overview and point / counter point plus other items from only that reference set. Start with the overview and look for the "cite" button on the right hand side near the top of the article. Click on the "cite" button and scroll down until you come to MLA. Copy only the citation under MLA. In Noodle Tools click on the green button to create a new citation. Then choose "database" and then "original content in database". When that page opens look for "Quick Cite: Copy and paste a citation" at the top of the page. When that opens scroll down below the yellow box and paste the citation into the white box under *Manually Edited Citaton. Then scroll down and click on the green Submit button. Go back to the Points of View tab and then if you are on the overview page scroll to the very top and look for the "Result List" link. Go to the Result List for your point and counterpoint. When you have finished with those and are on the "Result List" scroll down and look on the left and side for sources. You can then add newspaper or magazine articles and cite them by choosing database and then newspaper or magazine article and copy and paste the MLA citation you get from using the cite button.

Citing a World Book eBook

Analyzing and Evaluating Your Sources

When you are on the "Sources" tab look at the white bar below the green "Create a New Citation" button. Look for the "Analysis" button and click on it. Check to see you have the correct number of sources and notecards required by your teacher.  Read the questions on each section and look at the results. Then decide whether you need to do more research. 

Creating a Project

In order to create a project when you are on NoodleTools you will need to click on the Green "+New Project" button. This will open another tab called the "Dashboard" tab. On this page you can enter a research question and thesis. You can also share your project with your teacher if he/she has created an inbox. In order to share with your teacher you will click on the blue "Share with a project inbox" button. This is also the page where you can collaborate with another student by clicking on the blue "+ Add students" button. You will enter the other student's chariho chargers email address. The student you want to work with will already have to have logged on to Noodle tools which will have activated their NoodleTools account for this to work.

Citing a Website

In order to create a citation for a website you want to first be on the "Sources" tab. Then you want to click on the green " + Create New Citation" button. A new box will open up and you will choose "Website".  Then you will click on "Web page" in the first column. You will need to fill in the information in the blank boxes as best you can and then hit submit. Remember that often web sites do not have authors or a full publication date. Fill in the information you have then hit the submit button.

Citing an Ebsco eBook

To create a citation for an EBSCO eBook in NoodleTools you first want to make sure that you are on the "Sources" tab. You will then click on the the green "+ Create a new citation" button.  A window will open up and you will then choose "file, app, e-book". You will then click on eBook in the first column. Near the top of the page you want to click on the "Quick Cite: copy & paste a citation" link. Open another tab to click on the link for the eBook you used. Look on the right hand side of the eBook page for a "cite" button. Click on "cite" and scroll down to MLA. Copy the citation under MLA. Open the NoodleTools tab and then paste the information in the first box under "Manually-edited Citation" and click submit. 

Citing a World Book Digital Library Database - Early Peoples, Inventions and Discoveries, and Living Green

Works Cited Page ("Sources")

All you need to do to create you Works Cited page is to start on the "Sources" tab. Find Print/Export with a pull down menu. Choose "Print/Export to Google Docs". A doc will be created with the title "Sources for" with the name of you project. 

Troubleshooting: If your "Works Cited" page is not formatted correctly with the second line indented use the pull down menu and choose "Formatting Options". Leave settings as they are and click on "Export to Google Docs". 

Notes

Take a look at this screencast to learn how to take notes on NoodleTools!

YouTube Video

In order to cite a YouTube video. You will click on Sources and then the green button "Create a New Citation".  Choose the "Database" tab. Then choose "Video Clip (online). Fill in YouTube as the name of the database. YouTube is also the publisher. Leave the Publication Date empty as you can not see that. Copy and paste the url of the video into the URL box. Put in the Date of Access and the Title of the Video. Click on submit.